We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful two weeks”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ravenscliffe Lodge

Ravenscliffe & the surrounding area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ravenscliffe & the surrounding area
The Lodge frontage Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Ravenscliffe & the surrounding area
The Lodge frontage
Master Bedroom
From Ravenscliffe walk for 3 minutes to the top of the road for a most spectacular view of Douglas
The front entrance
The entrance driveway
Guest area with Wash/drying utility room
There is always something to watch from the windows at Ravenscliffe
View of Douglas Harbour entrance taken from aboard the departing ferry with Ravenscliffe in view
Lounge
daytime view from the Master bedroom window
A Summer evening view over Douglas Bay from Ravenscliffe. TT festival celebrations 2016
Large Master Bedroom is ensuite with 2 sofas & remote 40' Tv
The sea view from Ravenscliffe Lodge House
Master Bedroom with King-Sized bed.  En-suite with 40' Tv & sofa area
Christmas time is lovely at Ravenscliffe
Private area to the Lodge. The Utility room has a Washing machine & dryer
The Staircase within the property
The Kitchen with Seating area
The Kitchen
Kitchen
Master Bedroom with views of the harbour
The Master bedroom with King-size bed
The Twin room
Towels are provided
Twin room with seperate bathroom next door
Ravenscliffe is above the RNLI Station on the harbour
The scenery is constantly changing
A Minke Whale in Douglas Bay Sept 2018. Clearly visiable from Ravenscliffe in the background
Evening view of Douglas Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Douglas, Isle of Man

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eileen E
2 reviews
“Delightful two weeks”
Reviewed October 10, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

An elegant Victorian house with friendly owners. Wonderful views down to the ferry port and enjoyed watching the ferries coming in and out. This was our first visit to the island and in the 2 weeks explored it thoroughly. Enjoyed driving on the TT circuit! I would need to be younger or have much longer legs to walk down to the shops, harbour, etc. in the 8 to 10 minutes mentioned. Didn't realise how hilly Douglas is so had plenty of opportunities to practise my hill starts!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B
1 review
“Stunning location, spacious house”
Reviewed September 17, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

This is a spacious and characterful rental in a beautiful position overlooking Douglas harbour. We had a car, but we could have managed without it because public transport and the shops are easily available. the main bedroom is not only stunning in terms of its view, but also it’s luxurious size.

On the negative side, water pressure in the ensuite is very low indeed. Cooking is difficult because the fan oven is too noisy to use and the microwave door is cracked, making it a hazard to use. Both these need immediate attention,

Nevertheless we had a really enjoyable and relaxing holiday and would recommend it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginiam...
virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it immensely, again!”
Reviewed August 21, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Ravenscliffe Lodge is a beautiful gem of place to stay when visiting the Isle of Man. The accommodations are clean, spacious and comfortable with everything you need if you are self-catering. The views over the bay are superb and it is no more than a five-minute’s walk into the center of Douglas. We have stayed here in the middle of winter and also in summer and it was perfectly comfortable both times.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen D
1 review
“An excellent holiday”
Reviewed May 16, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The accommodation here at Ravenscliffe Lodge is fantastic, more like a stay in a country house, than a normal holiday. I would throughly recommend Ravenscliffe Lodge as a location for a stay in the Isle of Man, it is ideally situated for exploring the island and is only a short walk in Douglas.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2018
Thank you John for your kind comments about Ravenscliffe Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed the property and your stay on the Island. David and Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginiam...
virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spacious yet cozy, well equipped, great location.”
Reviewed May 11, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Loved watching the ferries leave the port. Enjoyed being able to walk into town centre for last minute Christmas shopping. David & Elaine were very helpful and accommodating. Lent us an extra large soup pot so we could make chili for our family. Had a great time. Very comfortable. We are returning in summer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2018
Glad to hear you had such a good time at Ravenscliffe. We look forward to seeing you again one Summer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hckoenig2...
Laupheim, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ravenscliffe Lodge”
Reviewed February 23, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
3
people found this review helpful

The Ravenscliffe Lodge, is a very good House, with orginal in old english style !
The rooms all great and friendly .The kitchen have top conditions.
I`m love houses in this old style.Very nice.
Thank you to the Owners David&Elaine on RAVENSCLIFFE

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevuk
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful view”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Great location lovely and quiet but only a 6 minute walk to quayside where you will find a choice of pubs and restaurants, Tesco's 10 minute walk or couple of minutes in the car so very convenient for all your holiday requirements. Ravenscliffe Lodge oozes charm from the moment you enter through the impressive automatic gates making your way down a pretty driveway to reach the house, before entering the house I had the usual dread of opening the door wondering what I would find. As on closer inspection standing outside the house it was obvious that it had maintainance issues and would benefit from some TLC, but this property is huge and I appreciate it would be a full time job to keep this house in order. So upon entering I was pleasantly surprised by lovely large light bright hallway that draws you towards another great room, the lounge a very pleasant space with wonderful views of harbour. The kitchen is another big room , I feel this room would benefit from a refit, it does have everything that you require but all a bit basic, especially if you do actually want to cook. And the oven definitely needs attention as it's extremely noisy!
Upstairs there was a wonderful master suite tastefully finished, with a large en suite, this is definitely the best room in the house. The second bedroom is adequate, it does the job, there are twin beds pushed together in this room which is probably the best layout as it allows more room to navigate around the sides of the room. The beds in this room I feel need to be upgraded, just turning over was quite a noisy episode bedstead creaking and headboard banging as it was not sufficiently fixed on, mattress was slightly lumpy and a bit sharp in places. Second bathroom was also adequate, equipped with a bath only it was very compact, and lacked a standard of finish.
To summarise Ravenscliffe has a lovely homely feel, it is a very shabby chic house that speaks of it's grander days but has fallen on somewhat harder times, but you can't help being charmed by this lovable old lady who is just too expensive to keep in the style she's become accustomed to.
We had a great week here, the island like the house is charming and unspoilt !
My critique is hopefully informative , not complaining! We loved this house, and we would undoubtedly return to holiday in Ravenscliffe Lodge. Thank you David and Elaine for the well thought out grocery pack provided, if you were travel weary then you could manage quite easily on the supplies that were left until the following morning

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing