We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surprise Holiday !”
Review of Inglewood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inglewood
Ranked #2 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Surprise Holiday !”
Reviewed August 12, 2010

The Inglewood Hotel was booked as a surprise gift for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary.
We could not have received a better present !
Andy and Pip take pride in ensuring that their guests have clean, comfortable first class accommodation.
Located on the promenade, we were ideally situated for hopping on and off the bus or horse tram.
We made full use of a 'three day travel pass' and found it worth every penny, visiting Snaefell, Peel, Port Erin, The Sound and Port St,Mary.
Breakfasts were excellent and served by kind, friendly staff.
Tables were reserved for us at recommended restaurants for dinner and we finished our evenings off with a 'wee dram' in Andy's Bar with good company !
Looking forward to returning with friends next summer.
The Catteralls, Lancashire

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank denise032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    42
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
142
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few days in June. I couldn't say a negative thing at all as everything was great. Do have a drink in Andy's Bar, and do try the vegetarian breakfast as it is one of the best I have had (how does he get the Quorn bacon just so!). Car parking on the street is fine. It is a little bit of a walk to the heart of Douglas, but probably not more than 20mins and as would be along the foreshore, weather permitting, it is a very pleasant walk.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chichibaobao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Pip and Andy made you feel welcome
The hotel was very clean and the breakfast was excellent with a good choice, We will book early next time to enable us to have a sea view bedroom. The bedrooms are modern and plenty of space . The bathroom needed another shelve for us to store our personnel items but this is an observation that would not stop us from recommending a good hotel in a good location with excellent hoists.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2010

This is our third stay at the Inglewood, and we hope to visit again in a few months time, throughout all our stay we felt like part of a family, nothing was any bother to the owners, we had a beautiful suite with uninterupted views the full length of Douglas prom. If I was to recommend any Hotel to anyone it would definately be the Inglewood. Friendly, comfortable, excellent service, excellent location what more can I say.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weelozGrangemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
various
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2010

I have just returned from another visit to the Isle Of Man for the TT races, I opted to stay at the Inglewood having visited before. Once again I was bowled over by the in house friendly and first class service provided by the Cross family. The furniture and fittings are all quality items and each room has a fresh and welcoming feel, nothing was too much trouble for Andy and Pip or their staff to assist with, and even at this very busy time of year they excelled with the level of service once again.

Another set of top marks from me. A family run hotel with a level of personal and polite friendly service, and attention to detail that is very rarely found these days. A four star rating which should really be higher and prices that give amazing value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madjockbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We stayed at the Inglewood for three nights in the middle of May '10. We were greeted on the Saturday afternoon by a cheerful Pip who carried our heavy bags to our room (though as a gentleman I did complain!). The room was spacious, airy and very comfortable. There were only two of us, but we had the pick of a great leather sofa and two very comfortable chairs to either watch the huge TV or just look out over the breathtaking view of Douglas Bay. The bed was one of the more comfortable that I've slept in and the bathroom was stylish and functional.
Pip advised us on travelling around the island, providing us with maps and timetables for the bus and railway services.
Breakfast was great. The atmosphere was relaxed with Andy ensuring everything was as we wanted it. There was a huge choice for both my girlfriend and I - she is a vegetarian and was really pleased with the quality of the food on offer. I alternated between the full English and the Manx kippers - both of which I would recommend.
We went to IOM to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday and on the morning of her birthday, Andy surprised both of us by orchestrating the breakfast room in a version of "Happy birthday". Pip also booked our evening meal for us at L'Experience (short walk away from the Inglewood and recommended!) when I contacted her by e-mail prior to our arrival.
To sum up, the location of the hotel was good, (stunning views) the room was superb, the breakfast was excellent and Pip and Andy (and their staff) were the best! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shabba-Ranks79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

A brilliant hotel- friendly welcome and rooms special- very comfortable and clean- breakfast excellent. Well recommended for families and couples- you will enjoy your stay here. Pity they dont serve evening meals- that would be the icing on the cake!

Many thanks Andy and Pip!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.6 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood

Property: Inglewood
Address: Queens Promenade, Douglas Isle of Man, Douglas IM2 4NF
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inglewood is a four star gold and breakfast award winning guest house. It has been beautifully updated with modern contemporary rooms and facilities. The sixteen rooms are all en-suite and the bayview suites are spacious enjoying uninterrupted panoramic views of Douglas Bay. The inglewood is licensed for residents in the evening. Free wifi is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglewood Hotel Douglas
Inglewood Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing