We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely tasty cuisine at a reasonable price”
Review of Millennium Saagar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Millennium Saagar
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Isle of Man
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Extremely tasty cuisine at a reasonable price”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I was part of a monthly curry club that visited various indian restaurants around the Isle of Man. When the club ceased, the 'Millenium Saagar' was definitely top of my list... I found the food authentic, perfectly spiced and very good value for money.
The menu was varied and catered for curry enthusiasts of all levels - lads who liked it hot weren't disappointed and others who preferred a milder and creamier curry were full of compliments too.
I would recommend this restaurant to couples and groups of friends alike.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeanzIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    5
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peel
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“family curry night”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We went with the boys to the Saagar and they were fantastic with the children, don't go looking for chicken nuggets and chips as you won't get them, that said they will make the curries mild but full of flavour!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Overspiced & Overpriced”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

A group of six of us visited this restaurant recently. Despite it being TT Race Week, we were seated after a 15 minute wait hovering in the doorway (which was to be expected at this peak time); however, we would have appreciated the offer of ordering a drink whilst enduring the wait. We were escorted upstairs to a rather bland, dreary, minimalist room; thankfully I had good company, otherwise it would be a somewhat depressing place to eat. The downstairs room seemed a little more lively and characterful, but was packed with diners.

Unfortunately, being seated upstairs, we were either ignored, or largely forgotten about, and had a long wait to order. A pleasant waitress took our order, but was clearly struggling with the language barrier, and it took a system of pointing at items on the menu to convey details of what we wanted to eat.

There was also a lengthy wait for the food, and had to ask twice for our poppadoms, which took the best part of half an hour to materialise. They actually turned out to be a highlight of the meal, with a good pickle tray to complement them. Another 15 or so minutes later, the starters arrived, which were presented in a "fine dining" style, but with portion sizes to match, flavour-wise, the onion bhajis were adequate, but nothing more, the samosas equally so, and the mixed kebab tasty, but miserly in quantity of meat.

The main courses were run of the mill, but my madras was off the scale hot, in terms of having nothing other than the taste of fiery chilli. I regularly eat madras at curry houses and at home, but never have I encountered one as ridiculously overspiced as this one. The lamb within this cauldron of molten lava was rather tough texture-wise, and thankfully the taste of it was masked by the aforementioned spice. I dread to think what the vindaloo tastes of !! I was unable to eat my meal, overfaced by the heat, but was able to fill up with the tasty peshwari nan, which was very tasty (cut into sections, rather than served as a whole bread, perhaps to save space on the table).

For the at best, average food, slow service and poor ambience, the bill came to a rather steep £110 - we drank tap water only, so didn't have any drinks to take into account. We each had 2 poppadoms, a starter, a main course and shared four side dishes. At nearly £17 a head, I would expect a higher standard of meal, so next time we find ourselves in Douglas, we shall be trying elsewhere unfortunately.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkieLangham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Busy friendly Restaurant with good food”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We did not book on a busy Friday night, but managed to get a table after 15mins. The wait for the main course was a little long, but it was busy. The staff were friendly and polite. The food was good, not massive portions, and a comparable price to restaurants in the South of England. The menu was not extensive, but what was on offer was lovely.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeamPitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good Food”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Fab Indian we usually get take away from here always tasty !

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Irisheyes233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Millennium Saagar also viewed

 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing