We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good B&B”
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very good B&B”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just spent 10 days at the Adelphi for TT Week,i found it a very good base with a good breakfast and very friendly staff i have spent a lot of years staying in hotels/B&B,s in douglas for tt week and this was most certainly one of the best,I would and have recomended it to my friends and would also point out i tried to book for next year and they were fully booked so this hotel is obviously very popular and i do think some of the reviews are unfair! I would like to take this opportunity to thank the proprietors for a very good service and an enjoyable 10 day stay. Philip Higgs.

Room Tip: For the the more elderly holidaymaker I would suggest a room on one of the lower floors as there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linH400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelphi-hotel, Owner at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
So pleased you had a good time in the Isle of Man and thank you for your kind words I to enjoyed tt 2013 , thank you Len Carr and JoJo Carr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    49
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
47
27
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The place was tired. I had an expectation that the it would be refreshed for the start of the season. This was not the case. For example, furniture propped up with bits of carpet, dirty shower, mis-match of bedding, lights not working etc. Proprietor and wife were friendly enough but both seemed as tired as the premises. I am now aware that similar priced B&Bs operate with higher standards.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kessywick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelphi-hotel, Owner at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your review, We are always working to make things better at the Adelphi and take reviews very series as you can see from other guest 99 % are very happy and we know its not possible to make every one happy you can see that at some of the 4 and 5 star hotels, its a shame you did not say some thing when you was with us and we could have move you to another hotel, Please let me know what room you was in and ill look into your complaints, once again so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Yours Len Carr.....Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were a group of 12 men and its was great and handy for all amenities.
Its a B&B , rooms are good breakfast delivered the goods, yes bathroom in mine was a little small but come on guys what do you expect for the price.
Yes it's on a hill but so is half of Douglas....
We would always come again and recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alandt60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelphi-hotel, Owner at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your review so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you all for being great guest's Thank you and best Regards to all 12 of you Len Carr........Adelphi isle of man
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed in the Adelphi Hotel for 3 nights whilst I was looking for accommodation on the Isle of Man. The hotel is situated in a convenient location about 15 minutes walk from the main town centre. It is also not far from the main promenade although you reach it via Broadway which is a little steep. The hotel is a little old fashioned but it was warm, comfortable and inviting. I would definitely describe it as more of a B&B than hotel. The hotellier, a Philippine lady, was very helpful and chilled out. I had Room 2 which was spacious with a single bed as well as double. I found the hotel clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was decent enough. The Adelphi was excellent value at only £30 a night; I'm not sure there is anything much cheaper or as good value in Douglas.There was room for on-street parking on the nearby side streets. Certainly recommended if you want something reliable, cheap and cheerful.

Room Tip: Room 2 was spacious with a single as well as double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJB1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelphi-hotel, Owner at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, I'm pleased you where looked afte, Yes it was a hotel but is now b & b but we do have them extras i.e iron ,press, hair dryer, electic safe, tea and coffee, free on line computer and w.i.f.i free flat screen tv , radio, plus more. once again thank you. Yours Len Carr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The level of cleanliness is appalling. When I first arrived in my room, there was stale urine and fecal matter in the toilet, and when I lay down on the bed, I found when I got up that I was covered in crumbs and someone else's hair (the top cover had not been changed or cleaned). Not a single surface in the entire hotel is cleaned properly. When I asked for the toilet to be cleaned, I returned to find lint from a cleaning rag on the toilet and sink - the question is: which was cleaned first?

Breakfast included moldy muesli, expired packets of brown sauce (expired 7/2012 for a 12/2012 stay!) stale bacon and overcooked sausages.

I then found out that my stay had not been billed on booking as stated and I had to provide a different credit card, as the credit cards they take are not the credit cards listed on the hotel description. During the process I found out that Booking.com sends credit card details in unencrypted emails to hotels, and so I will never use Booking.com again.

Total and utter decrepit failure.

Room Tip: If you absolutely must stay here, room 3 has a good southwesterly exposure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raiaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelphi-hotel, Owner at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I was stunned at your review I've been the owner for 25 years and never had a review like yours i refunded your money as you were so unhappy, we respond to all reviews to make the hotel better. Yours Len Carr.....Adelphi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Located five minutes from see front, friendly welcome, big room nice hot shower, great big bed.
I slept like a king, the breakfast was rather good also.
I was a little surprised to find some one else's shirts hanging in the wardrobe but I didn't find it offensive or irritating.
I would stay again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redbuddha1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Me and my hubby have just stayed for the 2nd week of Manx Grand Prix, well were can I start, we had a lovely room on the first floor, which even for me, having arthritis, was brilliant very clean, comfortable, and everything you could want for a week away. Len and Jojo, could not do enough for us, the breakfast was yummy every day, and the whole experience was fantastic, thank you guys, and keep up the good work. The only thing I can critisize, where the hotel is situated is not very good for people with very bad walking difficulties, I have osteo arthritis, and it was ok for me.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesMilliemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
8.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
374 reviews
8.4 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
8.7 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
347 reviews
8.4 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
355 reviews
10.7 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Property: Adelphi Hotel
Address: 15 Stanley View, Broadway, Douglas IM2 3JA
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Douglas
#3 Family Hotel in Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Douglas
Adelphi Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing