We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of The Devonian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Devonian
Ranked #1 of 37 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble. We had the warmest welcome and everything was explained very clearly to us, particularly the parking arrangements. We had requested a room not on the top floor and were very happy with our first floor room which was very clean, light and airy, as was the en-suite shower room.

We did encounter a couple of very minor problems which in no way detracted from our excellent choice of accommodation and the owner was more than happy for us to let him know about anything not quite in working order. These problems were resolved in an instant.

We'd already read reviews on The Devonian and the excellent breakfast served and we weren't disappointed. During our 3 night stay we had a different breakfast each morning which lasted us for the whole day till we ate out in the evening. Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone travelling to the Isle of Man and we would have no hesitation in coming back here again. In fact, we can't wait! Excellent value for money. Well done The Devonian.

Room Tip: Our first floor double room was at the back which was quiet but not a great view but then we were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAULINE V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 257 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

the owners are lovely and nothing is too much trouble for them. nice rooms, always lovely and warm. good location, handy for shops/pubs but also good road links to get to other parts of the island. this will be my first choice if I ever return to the iom!!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank hibou8867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I arrived in Douglas on the evening of Saturday 12 October and received the warmest, friendliest welcome.

My room was immaculate, and had everything that I needed.

Each morning, I was spoilt for choice, with everything from full English to jam pancakes with summer fruit and honey, (thoroughly recommended)!
Kevin would chat to me each day about my progress on the coastal walk, football, work, and life in general.

The service from start to finish was exceptional, and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending The Devonian to all visitors.
Top marks all round!!

PS
If you're the energetic type, you must try the coastal walk, but don't forget the blister plasters!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank martingcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed in the Devonian with a friend for 6 nights. We found Kevin very friendly and welcoming, he was also very knowledgeable about the island and readily shared his knowledge. The room which had twin beds was small and at the back of the house and was very quiet. We missed comfortable chairs, however Kevin suggested using one of the tables from the dining room which we did in the mornings for reading and quiet time. We had a very positive experience of breakfast in the Devonian - a choice of fruit juices and cereals and a good range of options on the main courses - we tried various ones - all very good but settled on the pancakes with berries which we rated as excellent. The thin pancakes were beautiful and fresh summer berries to accompany them made a wholesome breakfast.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank aislinn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had a wonderful week in the IOM. The B&B is in the perfect location for access to all the amenities you could desire for a weeks holiday. Kevin organised our Taxi from the airport which was a blessing as we were late arriving and would never have found transport in the dark! One tiny negative; we do try to save the planet but as there was no heat on we were unable to dry the towels and had clean ones daily. And, yes Mick, we found the golf clubs in the church window!

Room Tip: We had 2nd floor front room which we didn't find noisy, over looking the Villa Marina car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy241251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Devonian the second week in september Kevin Mick and Nikki were polite helpful professional and very pleasant, had a great time and food was excellent. We enjoyed our stay very much. All the staff were knowledgeable and informative about the area and never too busy to help, we are looking forward to another short visit as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrancineW411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a well run and comfortable B&B near the Villa Marina. In recent years we had stayed at the airport hotel and would have done this year but for the fact that they had increased their charges by 36% over the last time we went, so we checked the tripadvisor reviews and decided to stay at The Devonian. We are pleased we stayed there as the room was clean and comfortable with a newly refurbished en-suite bathroom. We were on the 2nd floor at the back, so whilst there was no view and it was a little dark it was very quiet at night. The proprietor, Kevin, was very welcoming. The breakfasts were superb and gluten free bread was provided for my partner. The Devonian is handy for the theatre, the shopping centre and the restaurants. It is a very good B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.4 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#7 of 15 in Douglas
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arrandale House & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Adelphi
Adelphi
#8 of 37 in Douglas
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonian

Address: 4 Sherwood Terrace, Broadway, Douglas IM2 4EN
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: $63 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Devonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonian Hotel Douglas
Devonian Hotel Douglas
The Devonian Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing