We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Indian Restaurant.”

Malabar Indian Cuisine & Take away
Ranked #33 of 154 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Grill, Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Our passion to offer authentic food in comfortable setting coupled with excellent service has led us to establish this restaurant for you. located in this unique space for your pleasure. Hope you enjoy our food & service as much as we do in bringing it you. Please share your thoughts and ideas with us which will help us to exceed your expectations. Fully licensed Indian restaurant and take away specializing in southern Indian cuisine and serving authentic traditional dishes.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Superb Indian Restaurant.”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Malabar is a fairly newly opened restaurant on Regent Street. The service is very attentive and friendly - nothing appeared to be too much trouble. The menu is slightly different to your usual Indian fayre. For starters I had Manx Queenie Chat Purée which was beautiful. The main courses were spicy and beautifully flavoured. Lovely surroundings, fabulous food and exceptional service - thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mousey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalabarIndianCuisine, General Manager at Malabar Indian Cuisine & Take away, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Mousey10,

Thank you so much for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    46
    13
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Spot on!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Had a excellent meal here last weekend also could not fault anything as food was very tasty good value, service was good too.

Will eat here again when I am visiting again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalabarIndianCuisine, General Manager at Malabar Indian Cuisine & Take away, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Sarah M,

Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best birthday meal I had”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went to Malabar for my birthday meal ,I was pleasantly surprised as food was great, service superb, cozy and interesting dining areas within the restaurant all that topped off with balloons and pudding organised by the staff which was nice.

Will definitely go back again soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalabarIndianCuisine, General Manager at Malabar Indian Cuisine & Take away, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Natasha M,

Thank you for your fantastic review.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Probably the best curry outside of India”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Thought we'd give it a try, doesn't look very much from the outside, but once in and up the stairs, the large dining area was clean and tidy, staff friendly. Food was truly one of the best curries I've ever had in over 40 years, OK when you travel to India or Sri Lanka they can compete, but not in the UK or Isle of Man where they're adapted to a more European taste.
Nothing was overly spicy, but all the tastes came through the dishes. Leftovers were taken for Lunch the following day and tasted just a good the second time around. Will be going again soon :-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulHatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalabarIndianCuisine, General Manager at Malabar Indian Cuisine & Take away, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Mr Hatton,

Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Indian Meal”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Malabar is up a flight of stairs opposite the post office in Douglas the food is wonderful and the staff very friendly. We love Indian curry and this is one of the best we have had. Very clean and smart restaurant not too expensive about £9.50 for a main

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank curly51shirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalabarIndianCuisine, General Manager at Malabar Indian Cuisine & Take away, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Curly51shirl48,

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are working very hard to bring the best dining experience on the island and its great to read your comments.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malabar Indian Cuisine & Take away also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Malabar Indian Cuisine & Take away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing