We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2013 tt”
Review of Silvercraigs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silvercraigs
Ranked #13 of 32 Douglas B&B and Inns
derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2013 tt”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a small problem when we first arrived but once Stuart knew about this within the hour all had been sorted out and neither myself or my husband had to do a thing, and the rest of our holiday met with no other problems Stuart and Diana and the staff were attentive without being intrusive, the beds comfortable and the breakfast excellent, we are going back to stay there for the Manx.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerbyshireDewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    56
    12
    3
    11
See reviews for
37
55
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We just spent a terrific week at Silvercraigs during the 2013 TT Races. Do NOT be distracted by reviews that indicate anything other than top notch service at this hotel. Comments from people with one 'less than positive experience' should not overshadow the tremendous hospitality and accommodation at Silvercraigs. --Read the description of the accommodations, and as other experienced travellers/reviewers have noted, it IS exactly as promoted.--Rooms are clean, breakfast is more than ample (and with all the motorcycle enthusiasts staying there, 'ample' was a requirement!), it is on the quieter part of the Promendade, and the superb hospitality and helpfulness of the staff and owners Stuart and Diana were very much appreciated. They go out of their way, every day, to assist with anything you need, including travel information and reliable restaurant recommendations. They even lent us chairs to watch the races! We were made to feel at home. Highly recommended and we would, without hesitation, book this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you plan to attend the TT, book at least a YEAR in advance. Check to see if there are seaside roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siobhan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veldhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We came on 08-06-2013 at the hotel and were very friendly received by Stuart, who tell us that the room we booked had changed, in a great room overlooking the sea. What a nice surprise!!! The friendliness of the staff is great, nothing is too much and for each question, there is a solution. The beds are of a quality that you rarely see in other hotels, here is by owner not looked at the cost but just at the quality and that is excellent, as if I was at home. Also the breakfast was excellent with lots of fresh fruit and various spreads.On Monday 10-06-2013 we headed back to Netherlands, but were still like to stay for a hole week. If I give a rating between 1 and 10 must then get Silvercraigs Hotel Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF AN 11!!. Absulud Super!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snarf53-05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful BC
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Booked via internet with excellent communications from Stuart. On arrival, met with very friendly greeting, shown to our room with offer of luggage assistance. There is one small "lift" (elevator). Our room was spacious, facing the sea. Very small yet very functional bathroom. Housekeeping services provided daily, with fresh towels or bed linens as requested. Excellent hot breakfasts each morning, with exceptional service by staff in this small guest hotel. Stayed one week, pre TT, as rooms sold out for TT a year ahead. Testament to this great guest hotel at the "quiet" end of the Promenade. Easy access on foot to 'active' area of Promenade anytime ... and during day by horse trolley or bus stop very close by.

Room Tip: Sea facing room for view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miraclesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Once again stopped at the silvercraigs hotel for TT we stop there every year Stewart Diana and staff cannot do enough for you the rooms are very clean and clean towels every day , the beds are very comfortable , we are going back for Manx go and stopping at silvercraigs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suerocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalmellington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

we arrived at the Silvercraigs about 6-30 pm on 11/05.2013. firstly it was posted as a guesthouse at the front door and not a hotel. when we entered the guesthouse it was freezing cold and smelled damp and musky when we got keys to our rooms they were worse,the window in the bathroom wouldn"t close and the bed was so damp we couldn"t sleep in it and the food was terrible

Room Tip: i wouldn"t evenrecommend this guesthouse to anyone.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Phoned hotel and booked a twin room for myself and my father for 2013 Grand Prix, all details including credit card details provided. Told that new reception staff were starting the next week so that I would receive contact from the new staff in a week to two weeks time. Did not hear anything so phoned back and spoke to same member of staff made booking with, advised twin room no longer available, they had a triple but advised to seek accommodation elsewhere as they had made a mistake. Pointed out ferry sailings booked and paid for following "booking" room with Silvercraigs but only response was that as they had not charged anything against my credit card they would accept no responsibility. Been going to the IOM since 1979 and this is the first time I have been let down like this, very poor customer service.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arrandale House & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Caledonia Hotel
Caledonia Hotel
#18 of 32 in Douglas
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silvercraigs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvercraigs

Property: Silvercraigs
Address: 27 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* PRIME LOCATION ON THE BEACH NEAR THE PALACE HOTEL * AMONG DOUGLAS PROMENADE BEST VALUE GUEST HOUSES/ B&Bs * LIFT, FREE WIFI, FREE STREET PARKING * MEMORY FOAM MATTRESSES * 100% GUEST SATISFACTION POLICY FROM ARRIVAL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Silvercraigs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvercraigs Hotel Douglas
Silvercraigs Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing