We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

forget the negative reviews. we stayed for 5 days room at the front which was great, bedroom and bathroom large and clean. the staff very helpful. the breakfast and evening mealswhere hot and plentiful. we will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 355 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

The usual eastern European staff, polite but dont have the giste/flexibility of English. Smallest lift in the world. The sea front room was quite nice but noisy, hot and no air con. A fairly second rate breakfast only served until 9am, so not great if you have a lie in. Dingey bar. On a par with drab Dougals as a hole (sic).Outdated, dirty scruffy place living on the Legend of the TT, For £75 a night, Ok value but the IOM in general has very poor hotel choice.
Douglas itself needs Blitzing and some effort to keep it clean and tidy

Room Tip: Noisey on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

During a few days business trip to the Isle of Man I was not booked into our usual hotel, and stayed 2 days in the Rutland hotel.

Having walked down the promenade from the town centre to the hotel which felt like miles (suggest you get a taxi), I was confonted with a reasonable period property that from the outside needs a really good overhaul. There are also a number of unpleasant looking cracks to the exterior windows bays and sills.

On entering the hotel the receptionship was polite and helpful and provided me and my colleagues with our room keys and advised we had a sea view. With the room at just £59 B&B this was a little surprise.

On entering the room, it was large and recently refurbished with a good size bathroom and well supplied with good quality towels and toiletries. The TV was flat screen and had a very good picture. The views to the sea front were very pleasant with a noce breeze coming through the open window.

We did not eat in the hotel for dinner, but did have breakfast which was good with all you'd expect for breakfast.

For the price paid this was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186254David_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Maybe some people have complained about the heat of this hotel - i can't see them

I genuinely couldnt sleep as it was too hot. I can normally sleep through anything
I opened all the windows (in ward facing room), turned the fan on arrival as it was already a sauna.

4 hours later - there was no change.
I complained to the front desk.
I showed him my room number and he just laughed. apparently it was a hot room and there was nothing they could do. beware of the 4th floor.

he suggested i leave the door open to create a draft.
no comments required...

shower was good

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HantsJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your review of the hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us. We are aware that the hotel can sometimes be quite warm but take every effort to rectify this and are happy to provide extra fans on request as required. We take all guest feedback on board in order to improve our guests' experience, and hope to welcome you back to The Rutland Hotel on your next visit to the Isle of Man.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just come back from a long weekend in this hotel.On arrival the receptionist was curt, patronising and very snooty. We had friends with us who were staying elsewhere. We asked if they could come up to the room with us while we put our luggage in, so they could find us when calling for us later. We were told a definite "no". They had to wait downstairs.
We paid for an executive room as it had Internet broadband- it didn't! When asked about this, we were told the signal wasn't good.
Room ok but mattress thin and lumpy and duvet about an inch thick.
As there was an event on we could not have dinner.
The staff at breakfast could not cope and were not pleasant.
We took our cups of tea into the lounge after breakfast, then when we went back at 6.30pm for a drink before going out for dinner they were still there! 9 hours later!

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueV220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for your review of The Rutland Hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed in some aspects of your stay with us, and apologise that you were unable to dine in the hotel on the evening in question. We take great pride in our staff and the service that they provide, and have taken on board your feedback in order to continually improve our guests' experience. We hope to welcome you on your next visit to the Isle of Man.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

On the seafront a few minutes from the ferry terminal , which is a godsend when you've had a long journey.
The rooms were large , well furnished and spotlessly clean.
The meals were average but there was a choice each day. The staff went out of their way to be pleasant and helpful
On the downside the lift is minute and the corridors long and narrow

Room Tip: Have a seafront room , worth it for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Situated right on the prom overlooking Douglas Bay with a fantastic view we were lucky having a sea front room on the first floor room very comfortable and clean with modern furniture, bathroom with a large bath big enough for two and a powerful shower. Even a balcony off the bathroom but to gusty to try out.
Food is Carvery with at least a choice of three dishes and a good selection of veg, starter soup or salad bar and desert again a choice of three dishes. You are not going to starve at this hotel and the quality is very good.
Staff are friendly and efficient yes it can get a little hectic at times just like any Carvery.
We were on a coach party and only stayed for four days and found this hotel to be a real gem
have stayed at five star hotels with accomadation not as good as the Rutland

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a good view eg112 Rooms at rear long walk Lift only holds three people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retro107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of The Rutland Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and particularly that you enjoyed the Carvery. Our staff work hard to provide excellent customer service, and your feedback has been passed on to our chefs and kitchen team. We hope to welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
390 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
The Chesterhouse Hotel
#7 of 15 in Douglas
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 15 in Douglas
641 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
430 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#4 of 15 in Douglas
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: Rutland 19 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: $88 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rutland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most elegant buildings on the Isle of Man, The Rutland is the latest addition to the Sleepwell Group. Following a multi-million pound refurbishment, The Rutland has been transformed into a stunning 64 bedroom hotel offering comfort, style and quality to both business and leisure customers. The Rutland is situated on the Queens Promenade in Douglas and enjoys beautiful panoramic views across Douglas Bay and is only a short walk to the town centre. Please note that due to the original architectural features of our Isle of Man Hotels, they are not suitable for any guests requiring 'Wheelchair' or 'Street level access', as all have external steps to access the hotel entrance. Proud winner of the 2008 Isle of Man Tourism Awards - Best Hotel of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Douglas
Rutland Hotel Isle Man
The Rutland Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing