We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2013

On the seafront a few minutes from the ferry terminal , which is a godsend when you've had a long journey.
The rooms were large , well furnished and spotlessly clean.
The meals were average but there was a choice each day. The staff went out of their way to be pleasant and helpful
On the downside the lift is minute and the corridors long and narrow

Room Tip: Have a seafront room , worth it for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 356 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Situated right on the prom overlooking Douglas Bay with a fantastic view we were lucky having a sea front room on the first floor room very comfortable and clean with modern furniture, bathroom with a large bath big enough for two and a powerful shower. Even a balcony off the bathroom but to gusty to try out.
Food is Carvery with at least a choice of three dishes and a good selection of veg, starter soup or salad bar and desert again a choice of three dishes. You are not going to starve at this hotel and the quality is very good.
Staff are friendly and efficient yes it can get a little hectic at times just like any Carvery.
We were on a coach party and only stayed for four days and found this hotel to be a real gem
have stayed at five star hotels with accomadation not as good as the Rutland

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a good view eg112 Rooms at rear long walk Lift only holds three people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retro107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of The Rutland Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and particularly that you enjoyed the Carvery. Our staff work hard to provide excellent customer service, and your feedback has been passed on to our chefs and kitchen team. We hope to welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Although quite a walk from the ferry terminal high marks to the staff for letting us check in at 6am in the morning after taking the night ferry from Heysham; allowing us to have a sleep before setting out for a wedding at lunchtime. Spacious double room with good sized double bed and comfy sofa. Nice hot power shower. Helpful staff and good breakfast. Clean and well decorated rooms.

Room Tip: We had a back room on the 3rd floor (probably because we checked in at an unearthly hour and the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 761ChrisG761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I have spent a weekend in this hotel in large sea view room. It’s overall good hotel with comfortable basic rooms.

Everything else seems a bit average. The lobby is rather poor, small, slow lift and really narrow and long corridors.

The hotel seems to cater mostly for big coach tours. We had our dinner there and it was really appalling. It was sort of a canteen type of venue with limited selection of very poorly cooked food.


I would recommend staying in superior rooms overlooking the bay, but would never advise to eat there…

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MariuszKluzniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Rutland Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. As you suggest we do often cater for large parties, however we make it our priority to serve delicious food for all of our guests. We have taken on board your comments and passed these on to the chef for when we re-open this spring. Regarding the decor of our lobby, we close each winter during which repairs are made and TLC given where needed. Thank you for your otherwise kind comments regarding our superior rooms. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to the Isle of Man.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you're looking Victorian seaside hotel then look no further than The Rutland. This hotel mixes the traditional Victorian look but with a modern contempary modern well refurbished interior. Our waterfont room gave fabulous views across the Douglas promenade and if up early enough enjoyed the sunrise over the Irish Sea. It's location on the promenade made it easy to find and within reach of Douglas harbour and centre. With friendly and helpful staff this made our stay an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room to make the most of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Good things about Rutland hotel are: clean, nicely decorated rooms, helpful staff, spacious dining room where quality breakfasts are served and very reasonable rates (in may case GBP 35 per night). Not so good thing is the distance from the downtown Douglas. It may take you half an hour to walk towards the ferry terminal, steam railway station, most bus stops and the restaurants along the N Quay. However, if you head towards the electric railway, it’s only 10 min away.
Try to get a room facing the promenade with nice views on the Douglas Bay to offset the inconvenience of somewhat isolated location.

Room Tip: Just try to get a room with a view on Promenade / Douglas Bay - then you may have access to the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirill_Muradov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A lovely seafront hotel that looks as if it was recently renovated. Nice clean room and bathroom.
Great value. This is the second time I have stayed here, and highly recommend it. My room was at the rear of the hotel and very quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewAndDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
396 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
The Chesterhouse Hotel
#8 of 15 in Douglas
301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
439 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: Rutland 19 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: $94 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rutland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most elegant buildings on the Isle of Man, The Rutland is the latest addition to the Sleepwell Group. Following a multi-million pound refurbishment, The Rutland has been transformed into a stunning 64 bedroom hotel offering comfort, style and quality to both business and leisure customers. The Rutland is situated on the Queens Promenade in Douglas and enjoys beautiful panoramic views across Douglas Bay and is only a short walk to the town centre. Please note that due to the original architectural features of our Isle of Man Hotels, they are not suitable for any guests requiring 'Wheelchair' or 'Street level access', as all have external steps to access the hotel entrance. Proud winner of the 2008 Isle of Man Tourism Awards - Best Hotel of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Douglas
Rutland Hotel Isle Man
The Rutland Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing