We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveler rating
127
133
48
32
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
127
133
48
32
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews entertainment every night isle of man plenty of choice evening meal coach holiday sea front ferry terminal sea view nothing too much trouble buffet style meal times clean hotel gb tours old victorian narrow corridors an excellent hotel plenty of hot water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 367 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2019 via mobile

The hotel is like a rabbit warren but good signage. We were there as part of a coach tour and had buffet style breakfast and dinner which was yummy. Would have liked slightly better options for dessert but that's a personal choice. Hotel was clean and the staff were so friendly and helpful, even waving us off in the bus. Definitely caters for an "older" clientele. Seagulls can be annoying , but you are at the seaside and would have loved a bath. Definitely a great hotel

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank lindap1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel from 18th to 22nd April. Could not find fault with this hotel at all, we had a lovely room facing the sea at the front of the hotel. The food was excellent, we had half board. Everything was hot and well cooked. The variety of food was good and very apt for the clientele, not your pretentious food that lots of places serve. Corridors are quite narrow, there are a lot of stairs but there is a lift. We had a lovely time and we would certainly go back to stay

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank PatD167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019

We stayed here as part of a Skills coach tour. For the price, this is an excellent hotel and the staff are very friendly. Breakfast and dinner are included in half board and the quality and quantity could not be faulted. The hotel is situated at the south end of the bay, close to the port and shopping centre. `we had a pleasant walk most evening along the front.

The rooms are fine, if a little noisy when your neighbour has the TV on. the downside for us was that we were in a room at the very end of the hotel and the water in the shower, sink and toilet often stopped suddenly - presumably other people before us in the queue!

Date of stay: April 2019
1  Thank REHILL54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2019

Just spent 5 days with Shearings to this very traditional seaside hotel.Spotlessly clean,great staff,but it is the food I will wax lyrical over,hot plates,very apt menu,extremely enthusiastic chef who had one aim that was to please the guests.Simple good quality well cooked and presented meals.All in all ,together with pleasant entertainment, made for a happy few days,and the IOM is beautiful too

Date of stay: March 2019
2  Thank sapatstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

Stayed here for 5 nights, half board, thought it was very reasonably priced. Warm welcom at reception and our cases taken to the room . We had a top floor room on the front corner of the building, spacious bright, very clean plenty of storage space. Most of the noise was made by seagulls but only to be expected , the fire doors shut with a loud clunk sometimes shaking the wall. Beds very comfortable .There is a small lift .
A limited menu of very good food is served at the buffet restaurant in nice surroundings,the staff are very efficient and plesant. The Chesterhouse is well placed for the shops and lovely short walks, it has a pleasing facade. Would be very happy to return.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank redfeathers2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews