We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveler rating
127
128
48
32
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
127
128
48
32
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews entertainment every night isle of man plenty of choice evening meal coach holiday sea front ferry terminal sea view nothing too much trouble buffet style meal times clean hotel gb tours old victorian narrow corridors an excellent hotel the main shopping street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 361 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2019

Just spent 5 days with Shearings to this very traditional seaside hotel.Spotlessly clean,great staff,but it is the food I will wax lyrical over,hot plates,very apt menu,extremely enthusiastic chef who had one aim that was to please the guests.Simple good quality well cooked and presented meals.All in all ,together with pleasant entertainment, made for a happy few days,and the IOM is beautiful too

Date of stay: March 2019
1  Thank sapatstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

Stayed here for 5 nights, half board, thought it was very reasonably priced. Warm welcom at reception and our cases taken to the room . We had a top floor room on the front corner of the building, spacious bright, very clean plenty of storage space. Most of the noise was made by seagulls but only to be expected , the fire doors shut with a loud clunk sometimes shaking the wall. Beds very comfortable .There is a small lift .
A limited menu of very good food is served at the buffet restaurant in nice surroundings,the staff are very efficient and plesant. The Chesterhouse is well placed for the shops and lovely short walks, it has a pleasing facade. Would be very happy to return.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank redfeathers2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2019

Stayed for 4 nights as part of a National Holidays coach tour. The hotel is well placed on the promenade and near to the shops and a couple of nice bars / restaurants nearby. My room was on the 3rd floor at the back so whilst it was relatively quiet it was above a Chinese takeaway so didn't open the window due to the smell. The room was tidy and adequate, as was the bathroom and there was an iron and ironing board in addition to a handheld hairdryer provided. The food both at breakfast and dinner was buffet style with sufficient choice. The only downside was there was just one lift which took only 3 people at a time.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018

We stayed for 4 nights as part of our escorted tour to the Isle of Man. Our room was at the back of the hotel and quite compact although very clean - housekeeping came in each day of our stay. It is an old hotel and the floors do have an incline on them which is disconcerting when you get up in the night! Our room had a small ensuite with just a shower although I understand other rooms had a bath as well. The hotel is fairly well placed with a bus/tram stop a few yards from the door. The shopping area is on a road just behind the hotel. Breakfast was buffet style with the usual range of cereals, juice, yoghurts, full English breakfast and toast. Nothing Continental. The dinner menu was changed daily with a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains (one being vegetarian) and many desserts. The waiting on staff are very efficient keeping your table cleared of used dishes. The none dining staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a pleasant stay with them.

Room tip: Quieter rooms are at the back of the hotel.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

We often hitch a ride with National holidays for our walking trip. Room was spacious with single and double beds. No bath and I do like one sometimes after walking. However shower was good, hot and all very clean.
We did get a bit of noise from the pub across the road but you’ve got to expect that on a weekend. With the windows shut it wasn’t intrusive.
All the service was excellent, helpful and friendly.
Only 1 lift
Food was lovely. Great choice and quality. Loved the large vegetable choice with new potatoes or chips. Only complaint wAs that they didn’t do any puddings with custard such as sponges, crumbles or pies. All sweet gateaux and cold options. However cheese and biscuits are lush.
Central on promenade with shopping centre on the street behind.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank csbrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews