We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would recommend the Chesterhouse Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chesterhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Chesterhouse Hotel
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I would recommend the Chesterhouse Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

I was at the Chesterhouse Hotel for 5 days as part of a coach party, the Hotel is a bright and homely.
yes the bed was a small double but being a single occupant it was not a problem, and the group of hotels it is part of has an apt name sleepwell that was commented on by everyone on the coach how they all had a good nights sleep
The staff was friendly and the reception, catering and housekeepers did all I asked of them, one man was not well and the service the staff offered to him was above and beyond their job roles.
there was a good choice of food and plenty of it, with flexible dining times, so I would recommend the hotel to everyone I know

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    85
    31
    25
    24
See reviews for
24
118
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

During our four night stay we were looked after very well.
The staff are attentive, ever helpful and very friendly: Not a sour face to be seen.
The food was plentiful well cooked and very tasty, not cordon blue but then neither were the prices. Good plain cooking, just like Mum's.
The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The twin beds gave us a good nights rest.
We have no hesitation in recommending the Chesterhouse and will stay there again when in Douglas.
Thanks to all the staff for making us so welcome.

Room Tip: Front rooms have an excellent sea view. Side rooms less so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear valued guest, thank you very much for your kind review of the Chesterhouse, in particular your very kind words about our staff. We are also happy to hear that you found both the rooms and the food to your liking and we hope to welcome you back on any future trip to Douglas. Many thanks and kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Booked hotel on Monday night through booking.com for a 1 night stay on Wednesday .. £49.00 for a double room with breakfast.

Yes the bed was a small double , but was fine and very comfortable.

Great friendly staff and breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spikydu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Booked a double room for me and the missus. Beware. Our room, 107, and I suspect the other rooms at the back of the hotel, the bed is not a double. I would describe it as a large single. We barely slept a wink as it was so small and we kept on elbowing each other etc.

Bathroom was tiny. The sink was placed such that it was right in front of the loo, and you needed a pretty strong flow in order to reach the loo. Sitting down was no better, you've got this sink on your chest.

Tbf, was as cheap as chips, but they still should provide bed as advertised.

Room Tip: Front of hotel overlooking the prom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Froggitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear valued guest, may we thank you for your visit and review of the Chesterhouse. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have the type of stay that we strive to deliver. We appreciate your feedback and take all your comments on board to investigate the issues you have raised, we can confirm however that the bed referred to is a standard double in size. Should you return to Douglas, we would like the opportunity to host you again and will of course allocate a room to suit any individual requirements or requests. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Douglas hotels

U.S.A. / ENGLAND.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

One star for Vicki for meeting my wife's special request. One for Peter the manager greeting us on the coach with our keys and a warm welcome. One for the rest of the staff, cheerful and willing. One for the general cleanliness, and one for the central seafront position. All in all a very good value holiday break. Would visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonaxthec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We travelled as a group to the Chesterhouse Hotel. The welcome was very warm. You have to consider this is a very old building, a number of properties knocked into one. Our accommodation was excellent and we found the food, which is served "carvery" style to be far better than expected for this class of hotel. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a twin bedded room, there appears to be much more space in the bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Good location on Douglas promenade. Easy for shops, ferry port, bus station and museum. Entertainment some evenings
Excellent food and service. Staff eager to help. Clean rooms, supplying tea, coffee and biscuits. Excellent stay.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, there is a lift. Still enquire about room location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8Margie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#5 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterhouse Hotel

Property: The Chesterhouse Hotel
Address: 37-42 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chesterhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Chesterhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterhouse Hotel Douglas
The Chesterhouse Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing