We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankful for the service and stay during the TT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chesterhouse Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Thankful for the service and stay during the TT”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This is our first time to the TT and we were so lucky to have scored a room with this hotel despite not checking till late February. I must commend Kaye, the manager at the booking office who helped us secure our booking, answered numerous questions about IOM, even arranged for transportation tickets for us to pick up when we arrived, saving us so much time and trouble. True, the rooms had no AC, but nobody expected it to be so warm the week of the TT races-this is the Isle of Man after all! The kind young lady Mary Jane at the reception searched for a fan for us and even took it to our rooms. We found the staff to be knowledgeable in terms of logistics of arriving at the race fan zones as well as very helpful. The breakfast was delicious and included, a very convenient way to start our day. Breakfast wait staff very kind. We appreciate the location of this hotel on the promenade, close to everything. We enjoyed the fresh sea breeze and the view the moment we stepped out on front steps of hotel. Would be delighted to stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank McChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us during the TT. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our knowledgeable, friendly staff; we have passed on your feedback to Kaye and Mary Jane, and we hope to welcome you back soon on your next visit to the Isle of Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    99
    36
    25
    25
See reviews for
29
136
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just returned from a 4 day stay at the Chesterhouse Hotel and after reading all the negative review about it on Tripadvisor we were a bit apprehensive about what our stay was going to be like.
We were pleasantly surprised because from the moment we booked in till we departed it was a most pleasant experience. The staff were friendly and helpful, our room although being a bit on the small side was spotlessly clean and had all amenities, kettle, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, shower, we got fresh linen every day and ample supplies of tea coffee, milk and biscuits - more than we ever got in the Hilton or Marriot.
It must be taken into consideration that this is an old Victorian building that has been adapted so it is not perfect or up to 5 star standards so one must be prepared to expect minor shortcomings but the advantages outweighed its shortcomings.
The food was excellent and cooked to perfection. Waitresses were very pleasant and efficient, everyone was friendly and cheerful and made our stay very enjoyable.
As for pigeon cooing, seagulls squalking and crows cawing in the early hours - well this is the seaside and these are to be expected but the Isle of Man is a beautiful island and Douglas has so much unspoilt beauty and charm that outweighs any of these annoyances.
Also perfect for fitness fanatics - we went for early morning runs along the prom first thing in the morning without any disturbance from traffic.
We would definitely stay at Chesterhouse again.

Room Tip: All hotels have advantages and disadvantages but the Chesterhouse's advantages outweigh its disa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and particularly that you enjoyed our friendly, efficient service; we are proud of our staff and facilities and work hard to ensure our guests have a perfect stay on the island. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the Isle of Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The worst hotel i have ever stopped in it was dirty, no hot water so having cold showers, the light was broken, the tap spun round when you went to turn it on. The management and staff not very friendly. No air conditioning so very warm and stuffy...

Room Tip: none of the rooms, dont bother............................
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank piglet17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us. We take all feedback on board as it is of the utmost importance to us that our high standard of facilities are available to all guests, and that our service is friendly and our staff efficent and approachable. We especially apologise regarding the hot water; this was an unfortunate mechanical problem which was attended to with great urgency and was fully resolved within a few hours of coming to our attention. We would politely ask that you contact the hotel directly to discuss the additional points that you raise, as we dispute that any of our accommodation has anything less than the highest standards of cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Douglas hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We ended up at this hotel simply because it was all that had availability when we booked our trip to the fabulous TT this year.

The hotel is made up of several old buildings knocked into one which results in what feels like hundreds of fire doors interlinking everywhere. Our visited started with a miserable greeting from a snotty receptionist, then began the hunt for our room was at the back of the hotel. Long and narrow with 2 very small beds, a dressing table you couldn't sit at because the wardrobe was in front of it and a long thin bathroom with the window facing a brick wall. The bathroom was so narrow that we couldn't both be in it at the same time!

We arrived around 7pm-ish and wanted to freshen up before heading out but the shower was freezing. When I called reception I was told it was because the hotel had run out of hot water and I would have to wait until the morning. Fast forward to the morning and the water was still freezing so I let it run for 10 mins before it became warm enough to get under - and then unbelievably it became so hot we couldn't stand under it!

Breakfast is a self service buffet style with all the usual that you would expect, most of which was cold and what staff were around to serve tea and coffee were surly.

Location wise, it's perfect for exploring Douglas and is pretty centrally placed along the promenade.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us. We have a range of rooms available some of which are smaller than others. Naturally during TT week bedrooms at all hotels are at a premium. All guest feedback is of the utmost importance to us, as it allows us to continually improve and as such we pride ourselves on offering excellent service. We have particularly noted your comments regarding our staff and apologise once again regarding the hot water. This was an unfortunate mechanical problem which was attended to with great urgency and was fully resolved within a few hours of coming to our attention. We are glad you enjoyed the central promenade location of the hotel and hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to The Chesterhouse on your next trip to the Isle of Man TT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Once again I experienced the showerhead in the sky. a fixed object 7ft above the floor, my privates are about 3ft above the floor, so no way can I spray my nether region unless I walked up the shower wall using my feet and bracing my back against the shower wall until I reached the appropriate height, a task not advised for a seventy-one year old? Why fixed showerheads and not flexible hose types? And why should I have to apply to the reception if I want a non-slip mat for the shower, something that should be in the shower area as standard as a matter of safety? And no Wi-Fi in the rooms only the main public area. all this after a hotel make over?

Room Tip: 314 is at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 442Ronniew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us. All of our bathrooms are fitted to the same high standards, which does include overhead showers, and our shower cubicles/baths contain anti-slip surfaces. We do not provide anti-slip mats as standard but are happy to provide these if required. Unfortunately on the weekend of your stay there were some problems with the WiFi; these issues have been resolved. We hope to see you again at The Chesterhouse Hotel. If you would like to contact us prior to your arrival with any specific requirements we will be happy to accommodate these as much as possible to ensure that you have a comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Recently stayed in the Chesterhouse Hotel in Douglas Isle of Man. The family room we had was lovely. We had a front facing room which overlooked the bay of Douglas with a king size bed and a bed settee. The hotel staff were lovely and helpful. The hotel was nice and clean and the breakfast was very good a good mix of cereal, fruit and cooked. The hotel is situated near to the ferry terminal and very handy for Douglas town centre. Would recommend :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenpoint, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

we have stayed in this hotel twice now when go to the darts comps in douglas and have enjoyed my stay each time. both times i have stayed has been very busy and there has always been staff on hand to help in any way we needed. the location is great,right on the sea front and within a two min walk of the shops.the only food i have experienced in the hotel is the breakfast and it has been v tasty.the bedroom was spacious and well heated. have seen a few other hotels close by that friends have stayed in,and although the others may be more modern,they did not have the warm friendly feeling that i got in the chesterhouse

Room Tip: ask for a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seamus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. We are glad to have reopened for the 2013 season and are delighted that as some of our first guests this year that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really value our professional yet friendly service and are glad that you do too. We hope to welcome you back soon on your next visit to the Isle of Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
374 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
355 reviews
8.8 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#11 of 17 in Douglas
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterhouse Hotel

Property: The Chesterhouse Hotel
Address: 37-42 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chesterhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chesterhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterhouse Hotel Douglas
The Chesterhouse Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing