We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”
Review of The Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hydro Hotel
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Adequate”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed for three nights at the Hydro Hotel - picked mainly because it was the only one we could find that would take a small dog. The room was small (room 402) but it had a great view over the beach and promenade. Daily servicing of the room is a plus even for such a short stay. The reception staff are all very friendly (we found everybody so friendly on the IOM). Breakfast was okay - we're vegetarians so we had eggs and toast. Plenty of food on the plate although limited in choice and good service. We didn't try the restaurant as it seemed to be mainly for the coach tours. Very clean and tidy hotel. A long walk from the shops as the hotel is situated at the opposite end of the prom.

Room Tip: Room 402 is very small but has a good view - although I think the adjoining rooms will have a good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suegalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    70
    50
    19
    16
See reviews for
32
79
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
leeds unitedkingom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

having just spent week at the (hydro hotel douglas i.o,m,room 204.
disappointed only shower no bath & no wardrobe,the room could
have been cleaner,the all the meals very good,& staff very friendly/
our coach operators was alfa ,our driver was jef,best driver we have
been with,full day southern tour,next full day northern. 6th day half
day tour laxy.thanks jef,had a good holiday with you,sydney&sheia

Room Tip: not 204. if you need a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sydney e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed here recently for the third time in less than twelve months. Rooms are nicely appointed and are serviced daily to a high standard. Some of the corridors and staircases are in need of a little redecoration but overall the hotel is pleasant and comfortable. Free wifi is provided, although patchy in certain rooms. Breakfast is excellent with a good choice and quality. Staff are very friendly and helpful. At the price, you can't go wrong at the Hydro.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LICHFIEELD
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

What you see is what you get. The Hydro was ideal as a base for trips round the island. The room was very small, but clean, well equipped, comfortable and had a view over the beach. The restaurant provided an excellent and varied breakfast (Including Manx Kippers), a little less successful evening meals, but all in all, value for money. Friendly and helpful staff. I would recommend both the hotel and the island.
Dave.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

My family and me stayed 30/7/14 to 3/8/14 we had a family room the hotel needs some redecoration but otherwise not a bad place to stay staff were friendly nothing was a problem the room was well serviced we ate from bar menu a couple of nights good food and large portions the hotel is far enough from hustle and bustle but only a walk up to town centre no hotel parking but always easy enough to park on promanade needs redecoration but not a bad place to stay

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisynorthernireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

very good hotel for it's rating, travelled with Alfa Travel 20/07/2014, stayed for 6 days, pleasant reception staff ,and very impressed with food (plenty of choice and good quality) and good service, room fine, well furnished with large bathroom. This was our first time in I.O.M and I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Douglas.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snickerbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Came back to Douglas with my wife 45 years since my last visit. Came on a Coopers Tours holiday and we stayed at the hydro. Our room (405) had a great view of the sea. The food was excellent and most of the staff were very accommodating. We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
359 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#12 of 22 in Douglas
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.5 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 22 in Douglas
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hydro Hotel

Property: The Hydro Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#5 Family Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hydro is a well established Isle of Man hotel, situated on the historic Queen's Promenade overlooking Douglas Bay. The Hydro is a 55 bedroom hotel, built in 1910, offering modern facilities, whilst retaining its original character. The Hotel is open throughout the year and we welcome all guests on business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Hotel Douglas
The Hydro Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing