We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best island experience so far”
Review of The Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hydro Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed August 28, 2008

I have just returned from Douglas, Isle of Man. We stayed at The Hydro Hotel, a truly excellent hotel and resort. The room was very clean, the only let down being the view. Still, you cant have everything! The food was delicious with an extensive menu.The worst thing about the hotel was the entertainment provided for us. The location of the hotel is very central, conveniant for the shops. If you cant walk even that far, there is always the horse and trams which travel up and down the sea front, which is where the hotel is located.
Douglas itself is very clean and you are safe to walk out late at night, which we did a few times.There are the usual shops such as M&S and Next as well as a few gift shops. There is a castle you can visit if you prefer.
On the whole it was a very pleasureable experience, only spoilt by the three and a half hour journey on the ferry!

1  Thank BootUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 231 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2008

The hotel is situated on the promenade, conveniently located for the trams and the buses. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff very helpful, and the food good.

The only fly in the ointment was the aggressive attitude of the manager of the Terminus Tavern, just up the road. My partner wanted a splash of lemonade in her drink, and he insisted we buy a full tin of it, despite the fact that there were bottles of lemonade on the bar. When this was pointed out to him,he became offensive and aggressive. he is obviously trying to rip tourists off.

Use the hotel, but give the pub and it's obnoxious manager a wide berth.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Captain-Flack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

An ideal hotel for TT travellers, gr8 location on the Douglas seafront, clean rooms with power shower. Older style hotel, friendly staff and provided a good breakfast! Work was being carried out on the outside, painting and new tiles on steps.

Stayed: May 2007
3  Thank JaxSoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2007

stayed here at the hydro for 3 nights with my 3 children in feb. on arrival we were greeted warmly and made feel very welcome. our room was a family room on the 5th floor it was large it actually 2 interconnected rooms very good. the furniture was plenty but very 70s . beds very comfy we all slept well every night. the staff were absolutely wonderful and hard working. breakfast was v good. all in all the hydro was very welcoming and affordable. on the down side , it was a little too far away from the centre (at the far end of the 2 mile long promenade) when kids are involved.also it would definately do with a complete re vamp and a good cleaning upstairs. douglas was a beautiful place as was all of the island we also visited peel and laxey. i would recommend visiting any time after easter as nearly ev thing is shut in feb. loved the island and will definately be back.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank waterville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2006

This hotel is a bit of a microcosm of Isle of Man tourism. In other words, it's old, outdated, down at heel, and yet still has genuine retro charm. It's also very well located, right on the Douglas waterfront, where the famous IOM horse trams clip clop by (several times an hour during daytime).
My booking at the Hydro was handled very professionally, the room was quiet with adequate facilities, service was friendly, the breakfast was good, and the evening meals were acceptable.
The Hydro appears to be popular with tour groups of elderly people from the north of England, and this gives you yet another clue to the Hydro's, and IOM's, main target market).
I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank JRL_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Britain
16
Reviewed May 28, 2006

This hotel is past it's best it is really looking worn out. We arrived early in the morning to find that there was sick on the side of the stairs at the front door from the night before. The reception area has leather funiture that is only fit for the skip. The staff are good and make you feel welcome and they try hard to make it look clean but the facilities are poor. Don't spent the £7.50 on the breakfast it's not worth it. We will be back to the island but not to the Hydro.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
220
Reviewed April 30, 2006

Friendly staff, excellent location, nice, adequate breakfast.
Generally good value for money. Water in bathrooms sometimes too hot.
Would recommend the hydro. Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
1 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
667 reviews
0 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#7 of 15 in Douglas
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#2 of 15 in Douglas
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hydro Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: $68 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hydro is a well established Isle of Man hotel, situated on the historic Queen's Promenade overlooking Douglas Bay. The Hydro is a 55 bedroom hotel, built in 1910, offering modern facilities, whilst retaining its original character. The Hotel is open throughout the year and we welcome all guests on business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your The Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Hotel Douglas
The Hydro Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing