We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hydro Hotel
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

An older hotel that has been well maintain over the years. Positioned on the sea front with fine views of the sea and coast. Walking distance to town center. rooms are large and quiet;
Menu is good and breakfasts are excellent, especially the Manx kippers. Restaurant staff are super.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chilliwack2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    62
    46
    17
    16
See reviews for
28
72
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This Hotel has a friendly atmosphere and has a variety of rooms with different facilities ie bath, walk in shower. Unless you are interested in motorcycling it is best to avoid the TT and Manx racing periods. The Island has many beautiful and interesting places to visit.

Room Tip: rooms on side are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is over priced for its rating, on arrival at the hotel you get the feeling that you are entering an environment that you wished you had never booked. Having been allocated the room, we then proceeded into the lift, which was out of the ark. In addition, when inspecting the room, the flooring was not level, and sloped, the bedding was stained and the headboard looked as if it had just been dragged off the tip. You could not swing a cat in the room and kept tripping over the bedding when trying to squeeze past to get to the wardrobe. The electrical facilities are outdated to the extent that you were using adapters. The bathroom left nothing to the imagination including a stopcock that caught your feet when entering the showers. Totally disgusting.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Flinstone101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Douglas hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hamilton Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We visited this hotel in early July 2013 on an organised coach trip. We were allocated a room on the fourth floor. It was a good size with en-suite facilities, and four windows overlooking the beach and promenade. It was very clean and the towels were changed every day, the sheets were changed a couple of times also. We were able to watch television in bed with a cup of tea each morning before we went down to breakfast. We were surprised at the amount of choice before us. Half a dozen cereals, fruit juices, toast and then a full breakfast if you wished, or variants of, also my favourite-porridge. It was all very tasty. The staff were young, but polite and friendly and efficient. There was a bar lounge, a lounge in the reception area, and there was also some seating just outside the main entrance. There is also a small lounge on the first floor, again with good views. We were very lucky with the weather as it was hot and sunny all week. We could also see the trams pulled by the big beautiful Clydesdale horses along the promenade. Nearby there were shops and restaurants and pubs. The public gardens along the promenade are well kept and beautiful to see.

Room Tip: rooms 400-401-402 have great views of the beach and promenade, so maybe similar numbers on other flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tyl1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston lanc
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

lovely hotel great room great ,food staff very helpful and friendly, went with alfa very good value .only complaint we had was that douglas is very very quite we were lucky to have some trips out otherwise we would have been quite bored also we had good weather which always helps.would definately recommend the hotel though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlie12313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is very good, my husband and i have just spent 6 nights there with Alfa travel we have had a lovley holiday, nice clean room, not much of a view but not in the room very much
so did not really matter. Good food and very friendly staff. would also recommend Alfa Travel Holidays very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ireneholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Just returned from a short break at the Hydro and had a great time, staff friendly and helpful, breakfast excellent and our seafront family room was clean and tidy.

We only used the bar on a couple of occasions but again the service was excellent.

We hope to return next year

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YorkshireRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
8.5 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hydro Hotel

Property: The Hydro Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#5 Family Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hydro is a well established Isle of Man hotel, situated on the historic Queen's Promenade overlooking Douglas Bay. The Hydro is a 55 bedroom hotel, built in 1910, offering modern facilities, whilst retaining its original character. The Hotel is open throughout the year and we welcome all guests on business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Hotel Douglas
The Hydro Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing