We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms tired friendly reception” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hydro Hotel
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Rooms tired friendly reception”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. The hotel is situated on the promenade about a mile from the sea terminal but there is a tram/bus stop outside the hotel. The hotel itself felt clean but the room needs updating. The padded headboard was stained and some of the wallpaper was peeling. The bathroom was clean. The receptionists were friendly but the breakfast waitresses were not quite so cheery. Service was a bit slow on occasions and the 'creamy' porridge was made with water. Overall we enjoyed our stay but the hotel needs a bit of updating.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonniebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    62
    46
    17
    16
See reviews for
28
72
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a thoroughly enjoyable time here on a pre-TT long Bank holiday break. The staff were great and the hotel was good value for money. Warm and clean with a great breakfast package and at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: I had a single which was internal with a window facing to the rear of the hotel onto a cliff-face so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed for one night only. Surprised that without paying the upgrade supplement we were given a room with a beautiful sea view. First impressions, the room was small but clean and tidy (which it mostly was) except for dirty bed spread and spare blanket - sheets etc. were clean. Staff friendly enough. Breakfast, forget it - creamy porridge made with water, bacon that hadn't seen the grill and toast which could best be described as warm bread.

Overall though, fab location in the centre of town. Ideal for a mini break.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Banxy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatley,Cheshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my running Club as we were attending an Athletics League Match. Hotel were very attentive, the Receptionist could not do enough for us, nice bedroom, adequate breakfast. Hotel on sea front, nice position. Would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scampi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

location great.loverly old hotel on sea front staff great no prob .rooms a little small but clean and warm but needs a makeover i will stay again but only on cheap rate internet booking full price to dear for what you get .but overall not a bad hotel bar prices a bit steap but you dont have to drink there can only say friendley and welcoming

Room Tip: given room on 2nd floor very small so asked to move given 210 a lot bigger and bigger bathroom unly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalosLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

6 members of the family stayed at this hotel 2 double rooms and 2 single rooms,
Found the rooms very good. Staff polite and very helpful. We only had breakfast but it was 1st class and plenty of it. Was offered more if we wanted. Price was very reasonable. Will stay again at this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bero183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

A group of eight of us stayed for a weekend at The Hydro, and were all more than happy with the rooms, service, facilities and welcome offered. The rooms all varied in size, despite us occupying them with two people to each room. One was a good sized family room (two singles and a good sized double); another a double which was fairly small, but offered a fantastic sea view, and the other two were twin rooms, which were practical enough, but maybe a little small. Each room had an en-suite bathroom. We paid a flat rate of £50 per room per night b&b, which worked out at £25 a night each, which for what we were offered was very good value for money.

Although I would agree to some extent that the rooms were in places, a little dated, they were however very clean and the facilities within them all worked correctly. The rooms did however tend to become very warm and stuffy at night (bear in mind that this was the first weekend of October, and it was chilly outside), and even with the windows open, it was perhaps too warm, and we were unable to find any temperature / radiator controls within our rooms to turn the heating down or off.

The staff were all very approachable, helpful and pleasant; the rooms were all cleaned to a high standard in the mornings, and the staff were happy to supply us with extra sachets of coffee etc when requested, along with giving information at reception whenever we needed it. Two members of the group did have trouble getting the attention of the night porter when they returned one evening (guests are not given a front door key), and they were waiting for nearly ten minutes to be let in, but no doubt this was due to the porter being busy elsewhere in the hotel.

There was a good, freshly cooked breakfast offering; which was enjoyed by all the party. On the day of our departure we did have to leave early, but on requesting an earlier breakfast the evening before, this was accommodated the next day without any problems.

I believe evening meals were offered, although we ate in some of the many nearby restaurants and pubs. We did frequent the hotel bar one evening, but the drinks prices were quite "top-end" (a pint of Guinness was around the £4.20 mark), but there are plenty of alternative watering holes nearby. On the Saturday night there was a 21st birthday party on in the function room, with some noisy "hard house" music playing; although in the residents bar this could quite clearly be heard, there was no hint of this elsewhere in the hotel thankfully.

We would definitely stay here again; the location is superb, and this hotel offers very good value for money for the price we paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YorkieLangham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
8.5 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hydro Hotel

Property: The Hydro Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#5 Family Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hydro is a well established Isle of Man hotel, situated on the historic Queen's Promenade overlooking Douglas Bay. The Hydro is a 55 bedroom hotel, built in 1910, offering modern facilities, whilst retaining its original character. The Hotel is open throughout the year and we welcome all guests on business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Hotel Douglas
The Hydro Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing