We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic hotel ! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic hotel ! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Just spent a fantastic few days at this superb hotel in the newly designed room and what an honour it was ! The rooms were fabulous and as always extremely clean and comfy. Thank you to Dave and all the staff who are extremely kind and friendly, and made our stay so enjoyable. The hotel is also family friendly making my children also feel welcome. I also should mention how fantastic the food was, everything was fresh and perfectly cooked. This was our second stay over the TT period and are already pre booking for 2015. Recommend this hotel to all who want to be made welcome into the heart of the Isle of Man. Thank you and see you next year !

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SarahBATSFORD1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    90
    32
    6
    7
See reviews for
56
128
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

I found all staff to be very welcoming, friendly, helpful. Addressing my needs at Reception and Resturant throughout my stay.

Bedroom was a good size with the daily room service - towel change a real assett.

Bed comfotable and Food provided at breakfast and dinner was of a very good standard, choice and qantity could not be faulted.

Keep up the good work - I'll be back to check.

Room Tip: I stayed in room to rear and there was some outside noise, maybe pay a little more for a room to fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight on business. Clean comfortable and functional. The staff were, without exception, charming and welcoming. Well worth a visit. Restaurant was okay but not spectular. Good value for money though.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DaveEnglish-96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Visited the Ascot for the second time over Easter. Once again, the welcome from Dave and his team was unsurpassed. The accommodation is very comfortable, and the food very good. The staff are the best that I have experienced in over 40 years of staying in hotels. They are friendly, efficient, and clearly thoroughly enjoy their jobs. It is really refreshing comparing the Ascot to some of the chain hotels that charge a fortune, and offer indifferent service- well done!

Room Tip: Ask for the Ascot room,(which is actually a two room suite), or any other room at the front of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Many thanks for your review and kind words about the hotel. I will certainly pass your sentiments onto all staff members who I'm sure will be happy to read your comments !
We are always striving to offer a better product and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Three of us (last of the summer wine) stayed here for 4 nights in a triple bedded room.It was spacious, with 2 t.v.'s and comfortable beds and a fine quality bathroom.The staff were helpful and efficient, and the breakfast was superb. My minor criticism was tinned tomatoes!

Room Tip: We could have had free use of a health spa 2 minutes away ,but went to a pub instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turtle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Hotel decor is a little tired in places BUT the room we had was large and clean. Loved the spa bath after a day out on the trains and buses exploring. The food was really good (rump steak fantastic) and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We had a really great three day break. Only downside was the manager supported the wrong football team! ;-)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Nice quiet well appointed rooms. I couldn't fault my stay at this hotel, the rooms were big and clean and have everything that you need. Tea/Coffee, Daily bottle of mineral water, Iron, Ironing Board and Hairdryer. Rooms cleaned daily and tea/coffee/water were replenished. Large Bathroom with spa and TV! I stayed in room 311 which was quiet and had a marvelous sea view. Free WI-FI which worked well. The staff are very friendly and do there very best to make you feel welcome. :) Free access to a local swimming pool and gym which is a great bonus. (3 minutes walk, it's at the Best Western Palace Hotel) I would certainly stay here again if I ever get the chance to come back to Douglas.

Room Tip: I stayed in 311 and loved it..would suggest a room at the front with a sea view. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
8.4 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#6 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Property: Ascot Hotel
Address: 7 Empire Terrace, Douglas IM2 4LE
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Douglas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#2 Best Value Hotel in Douglas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#3 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and luxury at an affordable price, the Ascot Hotel is well known for delivering quality service and facilities at a tariff which won't stretch your wallet. All our rooms have a spa bath fitted as standard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Douglas
Ascot Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing