We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel delivered a good impression but a disappointing stay.........”
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I found this hotel impressively clean, with good food, and friendly staff. If you want to stay somewhere comfortable and warm, with great breakfasts, then the Ascot ticks those important boxes.

However if you have a business trip, and need internet access, then forget it. This place boasts free wifi in the rooms, but it is awful. At best it is slow, at worst you lose hours waiting for connectivity & continually re-booting. This frustrating experience really compromised my stay.

There are other pesky annoyances. My room was called "Kempton", and whereas it was clean, there was a stink in the en suite bathroom. A musty smell, seemingly coming from behind the sheet of plastic tiles that had come away 2 inches from the wall. There was a fan motoring outside the window, but the staff said it would shut down at 9pm, which it did. The corridors here are very narrow and there are lots of steps, so lugging the suitcase around from the lift is a pain. The bar closes very early. We returned on our first night around 11pm to find the entire ground floor closed up and locked. The entire accommodation experience should be so much better

To make up for this, however, the food was really great. And there was a young chap behind reception who was exceedingly helpful and very pleasant. You could not leave this hotel annoyed after dealing with him. He printed my boarding pass, he booked my taxi, and was so genuinely friendly (to me and to others) that I went away feeling as good as such excellent customer service workers can make you feel.

This man, together with his colleagues, try hard to make this a good place. I commend them for that, and thank them for the comfort they provided. But I wish they would fix their wifi, sort out the musty smell, install a decent lift, and just lift their game a bit so the Ascot would deliver better on its potential, rather than languishing in the "average" ranks.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the lift and well-away from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us and I am sorry that you were not happy with a few issues.
Firstly, the WIFI system in the building has been revamped in the past 3 months at considerable cost and now works very well in the hotel. There are a couple of weak spots at the rear of the building which are actually serviced and supplemented by a separate system giving you five bars. I wonder, in this case, if you were made aware of this by staff ?
We shall look into your complaints regarding the bathroom.
Thank you very much for your complimentary comments regarding the food and service at the hotel. Service and hospitality are something which we pride ourselves on.
I do hope you will consider us again for your next stay on the island where we hope and believe your initial problems won't be an issue again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 374 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel looks a bit shabby from the outside but once inside is clean and friendly - the photos give a fair impression. The staff all work hard to be accommodating.
It is off a side street about half way down Douglas promenade - an ideal position as it was very quiet at night (so quiet I assumed most of the rooms must have been empty, and was thus surprised to see many of the tables filled at breakfast). It is only about 2 minutes' walk to the sea front and being in the middle of the promenade meant that it was easy to walk in either direction.
My room (Newmarket) was comfortable, clean and spacious, with a partial sea view. The bathroom was really large and looked as if it was newly installed. It was great to be able to try Manx kippers for breakfast. My one night stay was also excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiggy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have stayed here many times before with my partner, we are from the Isle of Man and live around 5 miles away. We stay at least once a year when they have the deal of dinner with a bottle of wine, superior room and breakfast in the morning all for £99! There are no restrictions on what you can order from the menu, we have a fish starter and fillet steak for main (which was cooked to perfection). I recommend this deal running throughout winter, we may even stay again (nice break)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keely_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The ascot is situated 5 mins from Car ferry and about 15 min from airport, 5 mins walk to town. 2 min to beach. we stayed over a cycling weekend and found the following.
Reception:Met with a warm family feeling welcome. They were willing to help and chat.

Bedrooms we stayed in was the Aintree room, it was clean comfortable with everything you require, iron,hairdryer, coffee/tea. the toilet was clean. the hotel was full and to be honest was very quite at night.

Breakfast is a mixture of Continental and traditional English breakfast both help yourself and there no limit to what you have.It is cooked well. you can order manx kippers on the day. again the staff were very warming and polite.

They have a bar which is not over priced, and the staff again were warming and helpful they will book tables at other restaurants and give advice on best places to go and recommending there own. John/Johnny were good company and could tell many a tale of the island.

we didn't eat in the hotel apart from Breakfast but what we witnessed in the bar was good. They even accommodation mountain bikers who were racing on the Sunday with early breakfast and bike cleaning/storage area.

The maids cleaned the rooms every day we were there. The only reason for very good was down to the tiredness of the rooms and no hotel parking. Parking is available on the street but you may find it difficult to get close on busy periods. This did not detract from a warm and welcoming hotel. will be returning again next year

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Well what can i say went to the IOM for the bowling fest with a sea view room booked for my friend and i at the palace hilton only to be give what could only be explained as a box room crambed with 2 small single beds tiny wardrobe and no where else atall to put anything at £96 a night not good enough no balcony, window opened 4 inches over kitchens and fans awfull.Went a walk with my friend and asked at The Ascot for a room and they were great Carole on reception was happy to help and showed us to a sweat called Epson, room each ,lounge,large bathroom very happy at £86 a night B&B .Went back to the hilton and told them to keep their room not that they cared very rude and unfriendly place.with in an hour in The Ascot having dinner which was great . After had a couple of drinks in the bar Carole was great. Our stay at the Ascot was spot on food great, room great and all the staff really nice will be back next year value for money 100%.Oh and could see the sea from the lounge and big screen tvs in rooms .

Room Tip: Just speak to the staff they will do the rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed at the Ascot for 3 nights in a pinch, and was pleasantly surprised.
The hotel is an older style and felt somewhat dated, but the premises are immaculately clean. The breakfast (included in the price) was pretty nice buffet style.

I ate dinner at the restaurant one of the evenings and the food was tasty with quick service, despite a large group being seated moments before me.

My room was huge. HUGE. I didn't see any other rooms, so I don't know whether it was the same for them.

As with everything on the Isle of Man, the price is inflated just beyond my comfortable "value for money" level but the price was certainly acceptable (considering WiFi and breakfast are included).

There is a Spar around the corner for supplies, and the hotel is certainly not as far as Siberia but is also not terribly convenient to the Strand and the sea terminal... a short, brisk walk.

Overall, well done Ascot.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christ0fu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Really nice place to stay , very clean and tidy rooms , breakfast had a good selection and pleasent friendly staff , was made to feel especially welcome by staff member Carol, no question or task seemed to be a problem for her to help me with , i would make a booking and stay at the ascot whenever i am satying in the isle of man , thanks for a great stay guys.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
660 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Address: 7 Empire Terrace, Douglas IM2 4LE
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Douglas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#3 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: $70 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and luxury at an affordable price, the Ascot Hotel is well known for delivering quality service and facilities at a tariff which won't stretch your wallet. All our rooms have a spa bath fitted as standard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Douglas
Ascot Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing