We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of On The Rocks

On The Rocks
Ranked #44 of 153 Restaurants in Douglas
Price range: $17 - $32
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Steakhouse
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great night! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely lovely place and really friendly staff. The quality of the food was great and it was good to have a different experience and a bit of fun when out for dinner. Would highly recommend it!

Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    38
    25
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place for eating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I had a leaving Doo at this restaurant and have to say the service and the staff were superb. Any question regarding the menu the chef came and explained what each dish was gave some superb tips on how to cook your steaks, duck and lamb on the hot plates. I will certainly be going back and so will my friends as we had a fabulous night and will repeat it again. The smoked mussels were fantastic and need to be tried.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Oorwullie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“On The Rocks.. You deserve to be !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Cafe like interior, you leave smelling of fat/steak, very poor service, much better places to go for a steak (Jak's) all a bit of a novelty at the moment. Don't waste your night here !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent meal excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

The service is great, very friendly and the food is excellent and not overpriced. Really good evening.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Heard alot about this place so thought me and my girlfriend would give it a try and was not disappointed, friendly staff.. nice atmosphere and lovely food what more can you ask for?
Was really shocked when i seen these bad reviews.. this is a new steak house which is competing against jaks, kurrys and steaks so fair play to them for that because its a tough market.
Bring the price down just a little bit more and you's are on to a winner.
Keep up the good work guys and thank you for a great night.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Rocks also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to On The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing