We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”
Review of Kurries And Steaks

Kurries And Steaks
Ranked #20 of 161 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $39
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Dear Readers, We have opened Kurries and Steaks with an intention to be a restaurant serving Indian food along with steaks instead of the usual curry houses. You will not find your balti and patia dishes on our menu as we do not believe in using proprietary sauces or any food colouring. But we can serve you indian version of fish and chips and prawn cocktail where we have used spices carefully to give you a taste of fusion. Myself and the chef are business partners and have worked in some of the best establishments in Mumbai, India and on the Isle of Man. We are passionate about the food we serve and the service we provide. We suggest you come and try for yourself and have your own opinion about us, some will like us, some will hate us and some will love us the most. That's the business catering is as we all have our own favourites when it comes down to food. Looking forward to serving you all and lots more. Shriharsh Naik Manager
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Myself and four friends went here last saturday (12/10/2013) we had high expectations, due to trip advisor and through word of mouth.... however, due to our experience i would like to share it for others.
We ordered three starters between us (pretty much just three chicken kebabs) and we were waiting AN HOUR AND A HALF for our food to arrive, when it finally did arrive the food was average at best, as the portions were poor, food tasted ok though.
We waited another hour for our main course... and their excuse was "the lamb chops took longer to cook than everything else" really?!
In addition to this, the staff were rude, not accomodating to the situation and basically looked like they didnt care. We were that tempted to get up and go for a pizza next door, but we didnt want to seem rude.

Overall, I was less than impressed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    40
    18
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Onchan
1 review
“Totally enjoyed the experience”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Tried this new restaurant for the first time and was totally satisfied with the selection, service and food. Even though it is all cooked fresh the wait was only minimal - will be making regular visits from now on - well done to the owners!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“2 hours is too long to wait!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Table of 8 on 12/10

4 steaks 4 curry not a big table and definitely not a big order..the curries were fantastic and the naan was the tastiest ever!

However the portions were small and the steaks were all overdone. I had curry and would have been happy with it apart from waiting 2 HOURS from point of order is just not acceptable!!

The service was sloppy from the off to be honest, no wine menu, not enough food menus given, constantly getting their attention for drinks orders which also took an age to arrow once ordered! Not a big place so must have been busy with their take away side but I should think that customers in the restaurant should have taken priority..

Oh and the popadums are tiny and taste awful!

V disappointing all in all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SWIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We ventured to this newly opened restaurant as we read a good review in the local press. We booked a week in advance to make sure we got a table as Saturday evenings tend to always get fully booked in Douglas Indian restaurants. We were seated in the window which afforded a nice view of the bay. The service was prompt, although there were only a few tables occupied. Not sure I like the poppadums' style - small disc shaped things instead of the traditional size. Never mind, we waited for the main courses, which were delicious. All dishes are prepared to order and tasted very fresh, rather than just reheated meat in a sauce. One comment we made to the proprietor was that there could have been more fish in one of the mains. Rather too much sauce! The menu doesn't have the usual 60+ dishes (as each dish is created to order, as mentioned earlier) All went brilliantly until we wanted the bill. The restaurant had filled by this time but we waited far too long. In the end, my husband went to the bar and asked for it. We were told by the proprietor that unfortunately they had been let down by two waiting staff calling in sick at the very last minute, which left them short staffed. Pity, as I would have given a 5 star rating without this delay. Will definitely go back as there is plenty of choice on the menu out of the ordinary to tempt us back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janeattree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Isle of Man
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favourite curry spot now!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Best tasting curry I have had for a long time, delicious and you can tell its all been freshly made! Starters were delicious & much more exciting than your usual starter selection at Indian restaurants. Although the main curries appear to be small, by the time you add your rice, naan and chips if you like all three like me, then there is plenty to fill you up! I would definitely recommend this place for people to try and the price was also very reasonable. I will definitely be going back again soon!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kurries And Steaks also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Kurries And Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing