We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Steak SW & Great coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of DownTown Cafe

DownTown Cafe
Ranked #44 of 152 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe, American, Mediterranean, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: All our food is home made to order as we believe in a unique american dining experience where service is always with a smile. Please try our island-wide famous menu, cheese steaks, bagels, waffles, pancakes, omelettes, burgers with a lovely cup of coffee.
Douglas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Steak SW & Great coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I had the Phili steak ciabatta with chips £7 so reasonably priced, it was a wee bit on the greasy side but tasted good though it could of done with some seasoning and was suprised to see there was no garnish on the plate. Coffee was very good, an excellent bean, I used to work as a barista for Costa and Downtown beat any coffee I've ever had at Costa plus Costa now serves their coffee too cold for quicker customer turnover ehich I'm glad to say Downtowns coffee was served at the perfect temperature and if you like flavoured syrup as I do sometimes they don't skimp on this either. One thing I did notice was I couldn't see any extras you could order like a side salad, coleslaw or mushrooms which would have been nice but over all very well done and we will be back. Service was fast and friendly : )

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    24
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best cafe in Douglas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Seriously the best place in town. Coffee is fantastic, food is varied and delicious and the staff are tentative.

Ask for you Cappuccino with flakes :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, nice cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I often go for lunch here, the Cajun chicken wrap is lovely. Kids meals are good too. The smoothies are good too. Good value all round.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best cafe in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Have visited Downtown since it first opened. They change their menu seasonally which is great. The portions are generous and we always are greated and treated with a smile. They are a hard working, fun team. The food is the best quality and presentation wise and the best which you'll get for your money in town. It's a great place to relax in, catch up with friends and have a yummy meal. Would definatly recoomend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and drink. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful bagels, we had a tuna melt and it was epic! Coffee was made with care and passion. Also want to give the staff a big shout for looking after my wallet. I left it in the cafe and when I went back they had it safe and sound behind the counter. They were even going to try and trace me via Facebook etc. Top service guys, you are the best!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Howard N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DownTown Cafe also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to DownTown Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing