We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food. great staff and best service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tandoor

Tandoor
Ranked #54 of 152 Restaurants in Douglas
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing food. great staff and best service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

, Two friends and I came to dinner at Tandoor on Saturday 7th June. What a find! Clean and friendly, good atmosphere and super food (especially the Aleppy fish fry) which has gone to the top of my list for restaurant fish dishes!! We will definitely be returning- thank you to all the staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Saju K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    35
    5
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Having read reviews on this website we decided to try it. Very disappointing, the food was presented well but that's where it ends. We ordered 5 different mains, 3 of which looked and tasted the same! The staff were quite rushed and as soon as one person had finished their meal they would take the plate away almost immediately. Would not visit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jujujenky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent. ..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Tandoor is the BEST place to taste and experience the best indian food...the taste was amazing and specially I loved the NADAN LAMB and Alappi Fish fry. Tandoor is a must visit Indian restuarent in Isle Of Man... the price were also afordable... Amazing custoemer service and people... I totally Enjoyed that night...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Boban C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Indian meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We ended up in the Tandoor by default after trying to get in to the Taste Of India which was recommended but the staff were beyond rude and refused to even take a booking on a Sunday night - they were busy but there is no excuse for outright rudeness when making a simple enquiry.
The Tandoor was a more tranquil experience. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. The Chicken Biryani was the best I have ever tasted and the portion sizes were huge.
It was a very pleasant dining experience and we were glad that we had not been able to get in to the Taste of India as we would not have found the Tandoor.
I would recommend the Tandoor and would eat there again if I returned to the Isle of Man.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ME7477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tandoor1ndian, Owner at Tandoor, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
“Best in IoM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Restaurant is situated main town centre in Douglas, just a short walk from ferry terminal

Visited on a Monday night and the place was full which says alot for me. Great atmosphere.

Restaurant was extremely clean.

Staff were extremely friendly.

Food quality and quantity were great. Some very unusual dishes to try. Prices very reasonable.

This is the sort of place you would take someone for a special meal as opposed to an 'after the pub restaurant'. The food is South Indian and somewhat different to run of the mill curry houses. Been to quite a few curry houses in IoM and this is probably the best. Will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank liamshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tandoor1ndian, Owner at Tandoor, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for your response
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoor also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Tandoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing