We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Snapping”
Review of Camera Obscura

Ranked #14 of 43 things to do in Douglas
Attraction details
Camperdown
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Happy Snapping”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

There were plenty of sites around Douglas to satisfy any photographer or tourist. We are very happy with our photos as we were blessed with magic weather.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    0
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Catch this on a sunnyday”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

It is on a cliff top with great views and is a fascinating old buiding. Don't climb up just to see this but it is worth visiting if you are out for a walk anyway

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank serioussusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rare Experience”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Got in for a £1 and found the carousel of pictures most interesting.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Recommend a visit to all who visit Douglas.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank glenparva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great attraction on Douglas Head”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Go up the hill to Douglas Head and you cant miss it. We went on a Sunday. The two cheerful volunteers there were very helpful. When you go inside let your eyes get used to the darkness and enjoy the projected images of the surrounding landscape. The obscura is housed in a charming wooden structure and there are lovely views of Douglas Bay.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading Berkshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“You Must See This”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Quite recently renovated I went to see it to bring back memories of my parents who took me here many many years ago to see Douglas via the clever multi mirrors or this Obscura-- It is fascinating watching the people wandering around the area on a flat table in front of you,.

Worth visiting to see what we had a long time before TV !!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TTFan3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camera Obscura also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Camera Obscura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing