We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Santa Trams”

Douglas Bay Horse Tramway
Ranked #5 of 41 things to do in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Santa Trams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

As an avid seasonal supporter of the trams I purchase a season ticked and my grandchildren just love them. It's great fun getting them to remember the names of the horses and essential we have polo mints for their treat (1/2 pack for the horse and 1/2 for them)!!! This is part of our heritage and they deserve all the local support and as such I was so pleased to be able to take the kids on a Santa special with a visit to Santa in his grotto at the end of the trip £15, not cheap so I was disappointed with the driver and conductor who with a little more effort could have made the trip extra special, sadly there was no chatting or banter and it was almost as if it were a big overtime chore for them. Santa and the ladies in the tea room were excellent and of course the wonderful horses who had been named Rudolph and Cupid for the occasion. Roll on Summer 2014.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeaniom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    150
    25
    2
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Of course it depends on the season whether the Horse Trams are operating - if you see them give them a try, its a blast from the past!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
690 reviews
285 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
“The world’s oldest surviving horse tram service is a must! Amazing to travel exactly like those in the late 1800's!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is one of those must-experience attractions on the Isle of Man!

It is a reminder of a bygone era and one of the few things that still work well and have not sadly disappeared or been replaced with a boring mechanical substitute.

It is the world’s oldest surviving horse tram service! For this accomplishment and fact alone, you should make every effort to take a ride and experience it at least once during your visit. No trip to Douglas or Isle of Man is complete without riding the horse tram!

It’s only £3 and though you may think it a slightly high fare for the distance traveled, the monies go directly to caring for the wonderful horses, who are treated with utmost kindness and care by dedicated and humane staff.

It’s quite amazing that you travel alongside the cars and SUV’s of the modern age. Despite sharing a carriageway, drivers have utmost respect for the tramway, which has the ‘right-of-way’ when passengers need to board or alight from the tram. Surprisingly and pleasantly, the motor traffic politely and patiently stop to permit the goings and comings of passengers. It says volumes about the people who live on the Isle of Man and share the present day conveniences with the old-world charms.

With the tram, you get to sit in the same seats that folks sat in more than 100 years ago! You actually experience firsthand today how it must have felt to parade down the street in the late 1800’s!

The seats with the rotating backrests are ingenious, so you just lift and turn them over to face the other direction. If you’re nimble enough, you can simply stand up and swing yourself around the post to face the opposite direction if you’re staying on for the return journey! Rather inventive and first time I’ve ever seen this ingenious system. We noticed them on the old train carriages as well!

We highly recommend making this short journey. It will become a lasting memory of your Douglas, Isle of Man experience!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Concierge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
509 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“A convert , it was good !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I thought this was a bit of a joke but after walking the length of the front and with it railing after being on the electric railway jumped the horse tram to come back . It was fast (!) and useful over the weekend . So its not just for pensioners and its really handy to jump on and off - really different and would defo use again !!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ptrabant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, null, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An iconic feature of the Isle of Man”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a must-do if you visit our island during the summer months when the tramway is operating. Kids usually adore this attraction, and all of the nippers amongst my family and friends seem to have favourite horses.

The horses are Clydesdales, and are wonderful, big placid animals.

Take care, as the tram tracks occupy the centre of a very busy road. The conductor stops the traffic to let people board and alight.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Douglas Bay Horse Tramway also viewed

 

Been to Douglas Bay Horse Tramway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing