We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Loved It!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Admiral House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Douglas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Admiral House
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Downers Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We Loved It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a week on the Isle of Man. I am always anxious about booking over the internet as pictures and reviews can be deceiving. In this case we were not NOT disappointed, but we thrilled with the Admiral House. The location is perfect in that it overlooks the bay and is only a very short walk to the sea terminal and the bus depot, both of which provide easy access to the other parts of the island. Our room (401) was very spacious, well appointed and charming with lovely views; the bathroom was also large, immaculate and I believe had been recently redone. We can't say enough about the staff; friendly, helpful and very accommodating to all our needs and requests. Everyone we met at the hotel made every effort to make us feel "at home" at the Admiral House. We loved it and highly recommend it for anyone traveling to IOM.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne35904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    69
    29
    8
    8
See reviews for
18
57
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

The location was just right for the Port, Shops, Promenade, Electric trams and lots of other amenities. Our room was a good size with good service from the friendly staff. Breakfast was a good quality and plenty of it. The hotel restaurant was a little expensive, we did not use it, but ate out in local restaurants close by.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAD_and_LPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

Recenlty stayed 3 nights at the Admiral. 2 rooms 60 GBP/night each
This is a great hotel: Clean, spacious rooms and bathrooms, beautiful view of the harbor. Hotel is located on the main promenade so buses and horse carriage are readily available.
5 min walk to the ferry terminal and tourist office (located inside).

Customer service could use some help, but maybe she was just having a bad day.

Highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4cordelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times, and to be honest, in the past has just been a 'run of the mill' hotel.

However, now the hotel has took over the resident restaurant and bar, the overall service, and quality has certainly improved.

The rooms are up to a high standard and would recommend dining at their truly exquisite restaurant serving the finest local produce available.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Williams1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

I stayed at Admiral House this weekend and it was a really good hotel. I had breakfast and although it wasn't up to much it was quite enjoyable. The only issue i had with the hotel which may seem very petty however to me this was a huge let down to the hotel. I arrived at the hotel to find a couple of peple (what i asumed to be guests) at the reception desk, however after standing there for several minutes i realised that this was not the case. I now believe that these people where friends/family of the receptionist. Not only did i have to wait while they finished their conversation in what i think was polish whilst being checked in i had several pairs of eyes watching me, which made me feel slightly uncomfortable, when i enquired about restaurants, bars etc. an english speaking gentleman had to step in and assist in giving me directions and even names of places i may like to eat/drink. I am not an unfair man however I think that someone in a front of house position such as this should speak almost perfect english. I was not shown where the lift was or even told which room i was in i was merely given a key to the room and a rectangular piece of cardboard. These words may sound harsh however i would certainly recommend this hotel to friends however the check in/out brought this hotel down. I would stay here again but not while there is a social event going on in the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PB1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2009

The rooms are a good size and have all that you need for your stay. There is a small cafe attached to the hotel which is busy through out the day, not only because it serves good food but because it is right next to the shops, post office very close as is M&S. The hotel entrance faces the promenade and it is only a short walk to the ferry terminal. Buses from the Airport (no. 1) stop at the main bus stops which are just around the corner. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We didn't dine in the restaurant but it looked very nice and there are plenty of places to eat out close by.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GeoffS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

Perhaps I'm just used to London prices, I was preparing myself for a much lower standard given the rates. However, the room was enormous and well-appointed, the hotel's exterior handsome and the staff, like the locals, friendly and helpful. The seaside promenade location was perfect and a short walk to any sights you might want to see in Douglas.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atodd1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
8.9 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral House

Property: Admiral House
Address: Admiral House 12 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LX
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Admiral House Hotel Douglas
Admiral Hotel Douglas
Admiral House Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing