We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm friendly welcome - great hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Savoy Hotel

Savoy Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Douglas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Warm friendly welcome - great hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

This is possibly my tenth visit to the Savoy. As per usual a friendly welcome from Haneffe and Mary - thank you for looking after me and feeding me so well!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
8
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

the savoy is a wonderful hotel and restaurant where we were treated like guests of honour. the owners haneffe and mary are very accommodating. when you get up you can be served with a tasty breakfast and that evening you can have a nice dinner in the restaurant part of it. there is a nice bar where you are treated with good service a chat and a smile.. it is deffinetely a good place to spend a nice enjoyable christmas or any other time of the year. i would deffinetely recommend the savoy to anyone who is going to douglas. thanks for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amym29540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

From we first arrived to the minute we left we were treated like guests of honour.
We stayed for 3 nights, first trip to the Isle of Man so we wanted to get out and about to discover the beautiul Island, every day started with a Tasty breakfast served with a chat and a smile. We ate one of our evenings also in the Hotel- which seemed busy on all of the evenings with both locals and other holiday makers enjoying the food - the taxi driver who picked us up from the ferry even recommended the hotel for evening meals!Fantastic location, right on the main promenade with views of the sea and the horse drawn trams going past.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_and_L_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn,Denbighshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

We went to the TT weekend to Isle of Man and we already booked the Savoy hotel because we knew its a nice and friendly hotel.We had a lovely time on the island and we had a very big breakfast every day in the hotel.The first day we had a lovely dinner and we liked it so much so we went to eat there every day.The chef Trevor is great .He makes amazing dishes and the decoration is wonderful.We would recommend the Savoy hotel`s restaurant to everybody.Even Michael Dunlop went there to eat because he liked the food there and the company.I'm sure we will go there again and only there because its worth it.Thanks to Haniff,Mary,Tina and Monica for the wonderful time and to Trevor for the tasteful food.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viduska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

No, the rooms are not glitzy and glamorous, but Haniffe and Mary were the most accommodating people I have come across in a long time. Lovely bar area and first rate treatment from the owners. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank auntie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2009

Our double room was just about big enough for the bed with nowehere to sit comfortably. Priced at good hotel rates but definitely not worth the money. Owners obviously doing up but a long way to go. Fortunately got good weather so didn't need to spend too much time in the room.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank searcaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

We too arrived to find there was no record of our booking thanks to the previous owners but Hannife and Mary went out of their way to accomodate us. Friendly hosts and staff. Clean rooms. Excellent breakfast and a relaxed atmosphere in the quiet bar made for an enjoyable stay. We would certainly return if the situation arose. Good luck with the the refurbishment and wishing you every success for the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireMandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#12 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Property: Savoy Hotel
Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LU
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Douglas
Savoy Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing