We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greasy pub grub”

The Cat with No Tail Pub
Ranked #117 of 152 Restaurants in Douglas
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
147 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Greasy pub grub”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I was not impressed with the food here. Greasy and tasteless. However, the bar staff and waitresses were very nice and provided good service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manninagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    13
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good pub bad restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Terrible food, big portions, good if you like grease, low grade meat like worse burgers than your cheapest burger van. Food cam ein about 2 minutes, probably been sat around for hours.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great Food at a good price and the atmosphere in the pub is very warm and friendly. The service is 1st Class both in the Lounge Bar & Public Bar.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place, disappointing food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I went with a group of people for a meal a few weeks ago. It had been booked but when we got there, we got the feeling that no one knew we were coming. We had been promised the conservatory but we ended up being put slap bang in the middle ft the bar area, so we decided to move into the corner so we could be a bit more rowdy and not disturb too many people. My food was ok, not very exciting but edible, but some of the others in the group complained about theirs being dry and cobbled together. Because they were not expecting us we felt a bit rushed to order because the kitchen was closing...we wanted to eat late as some could not make it tilll 8pm and were not told this when it was booked.
Saying all this the staff were lovely and did their best to accommodate us. You never had to wait more than a minute to be served as there was plenty of bar staff. After the meal we headed into the other bar where there was an open mic night going on which was excellent and we all ended up having a really good night. It was really only the meal which let it down which is why it got an average score.
I would go back

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Estelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“too ordinary”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

the meal is very average.the taste of chips can be bought from any grocery stores.will not book again for next meal out.

Helpful?
Thank cynthia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cat with No Tail Pub also viewed

 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Onchan, Isle of Man
 

Been to The Cat with No Tail Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing