We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow. What a lovely place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Welbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Welbeck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wow. What a lovely place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I love everything about the Welbeck. The food is so delicious and the ambience was just superb. Above all the service is fantastic. Lisa was very pleasant, warm and very nice. I enjoyed the food and the hospitality which is by far the best I have experienced to date. I think lots of restaurants and hotels on the mainland ( UK) should learn from The Welbeck how to treat patrons/ clients.
I will definitely call again real soon.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gomedzacj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    72
    16
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
118
28
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Welbeck apatments for four nights great spacious apartment great location friendly staff would recomend bottled water stocked in fridge tea coffee horlicks plenty stocked up every day it was fab we normally stay in palace but this is much better accomodation wel be definately back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank connorsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Our extended family stayed for a funeral. The hotel was excellent with large, warm comfortable rooms and modern bathrooms. The owners were very helpful and accommodating throughout. I highly recommend the Welbeck.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed here when over for work recently. It is very good for a 3* hotel. The room was large (403) and had a big bed and partial view over the harbour. Staff were helpful and friendly. It is centrally located close to the promenade and main street. Breakfast was very good, with buffet and a hot made-to-order option also.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LegallyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

I have just returned from the IOM with my wife after a long weekend after meeting up for a reunion of former colleagues. The hotel was conveniently located very close to the promenade and 20 minutes from the airport, the rooms were very big and one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in for some time !!

We eat in the hotel the first evening which was excellent especially the scallops !! The service and wine were equally very good and we partied on until the early hours ...sorry if we were a bit loud but some of us had seen each other for a number of year!!

The staff were fantastic and couldn't be more helpful and thanks to Mr Curphey who lives on the Island for booking the hotel and arranging the weekend .

We will definitely be back

Room Tip: If you have a lift phobia beware as the lift is a little small and clunky !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ticker1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Welbeck on many occasions and it me continues to impress with the warmth and helpfulness of its staff. The Welbeck is everything you could ask for, the rooms are comfortable and spotless, the breakfasts are excellent, just what you need to set you up for a long day whether you are working on the Island or enjoying its beauty.

We will be returning!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mac1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My sons father in law booked this hotel for us as they live on the Island, and I must say what a great choice, we stayed from Friday until Monday, we were very impressed with the hotel, from checking in we got a warm welcome and the room you could not fault, a lovely large room (304) with a corner view of the sea, a massive bed, tv, fridge and ample tea and coffee, the en-suite had a large bath with shower and lovely towels. We ate in the hotel the first evening and were spoilt for choice as what to choose from the menu as I liked just about everything on it and I must say £22.00 for 3 courses was very good value, the food was lovely with the vegetables being served in seperate dishes the service was second to none, with the staff being very attentative and very pleasant. The drinks at the bar were not overpriced at all much cheaper than some hotels we have stayed in. The breakfast again you could not fault, plenty of cereals then a choice of main breakfast my husband had manx kippers and really enjoyed them, I had full manx breakfast each morning which was lovely. would definitely recommend this hotel to every one whether for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room and you will have a partial sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welbeck Hotel

Property: The Welbeck Hotel
Address: 13 Mona Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#2 Family Hotel in Douglas
#4 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Welbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending the style & elegance of a victorian property with all the modern facilities expected by the 21st century traveller, the Welbeck Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments is perfect for leisure and business. Number One Isle of Man Hotel on Tripadvisor since 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Welbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welbeck Hotel Douglas
The Welbeck Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing