We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab”
Review of The Welbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Welbeck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“fab”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Welbeck apatments for four nights great spacious apartment great location friendly staff would recomend bottled water stocked in fridge tea coffee horlicks plenty stocked up every day it was fab we normally stay in palace but this is much better accomodation wel be definately back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connorsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    78
    16
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
128
31
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our group of 10 had a perfectly delightful time on the Isle of Man and staying at the Welbeck Hotel made it a wonderful holiday. Rooms spacious with every amenity imaginable available. Nothing was too difficult for the staff. We were made to feel so welcome. Breakfasts were fantastic, especially the Manx kippers! Our only small complaint was the fact that if the "bar" menu was served in the dining room, there was a 30% surcharge. So we were all forced to have dinner in the bar when only 1 of the party wanted the "fish and chips" that was not on the "restaurant" menu. Our other dinner in the restaurant was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eandbbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review of the Welbeck.

The reason that there is a 30% surcharge (which currently amounts to a total of £12.95 for fish & chips) is to cover the extra incidental costs associated with running the Restaurant.

We hope eating in the Restaurant is an experience worth paying a little extra for. There are the napkins & table linen that must be laundered, the Manx three legged chocolate mints which we can hardly refuse to offer the person only paying bar snack prices , we employ more staff per customer and provide fresh flowers on the tables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were very impressed by this hotel. Our room was spacious and well furnished (the ensuite bathroom even had a window, which was a bonus). The staff were very good, breakfast was above average and the hotel seemed well run.

The Welbeck is close to the promenade (though the road up is quite steep). While this means that the hotel only has a view of the sea from the upper and corner rooms, this does make it quieter.

It is about a 15 minute walk into the town centre and about a 10 minute walk to Derby Castle (the starting point of the Manx Electric Railway to Laxey, Snaefell and Ramsey). There is a frequent bus and horse tram service along the promenade during the day (and hourly buses in the evening). These buses mostly continue through the town centre to the airport, Castletown and Port Erin. The hotel is therefore a convenient location for touring the island by public transport.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MSDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

A lovely stay at the Welbeck again. Lovely deluxe room, worth paying the little extra for, as it is an extremely large room, massive comfortable bed, also a little sofa, and dual aspect windows overlooking the sea, even though not on the actual promenade. The staff are very friendly and professional, and not at all intrusive but there if you need help. The breakfast is great, you can have as much as you want and everything is beautifully cooked. This is definitely the only hotel I will stay in when I visit the Isle of Man. Its like a home from home but with a lot extra.

Room Tip: Just pay the little amount extra to have the deluxe room. It is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stella s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked a room for four nights for my husband and 7 month daughter. On arrival the owner informed me that we had been upgraded to an apartment. We were delighted when we entered the apartment as it was spacious, with separate bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and livin area. We had a beautiful view. We parked the car daily right outside the hotel and it was a 2 minute walk which was a gentle slope to the main promenade. Breakfast was great. We would definitely return to the Welbeck. It was clean, friendly staff, good food, brilliant location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antrim33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyneside, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wifeand I thoroughly enjoyed staying a week at this hotel.
The welcome was excellent. All the staff we met were cheerful, friendly, very helpful and pleasant.
Our room (204) was very comfortable, light and with plenty of space, not to mention the excellent King-size bed (we have one at home – so it made us feel even more comfortable). My only comment on that is that I like a very soft pillow – so I used a cushion (with a pillow-case) instead. (When I use our car I take my own pillow with me.)
The room was very large in an L-shape - with a six-foot-wide bed (two singles, zip-link style), another could have been alongside it before the entrance door. Beyond the end of the bed was about another 15ft or so to an angled, rectangular bay, with a partial view of the sea and promenade, looking east. There was a good sized desk and a twin-seat settee and other chairs. Almost like a suite. 7 large double-glazed windows.
The selections of breakfast cereal, fruit and drinks were very good and the freshly prepared cooked food to-order was good, much better than most one meets and far better than the done-to-death eggs on a hot buffet. We also enjoyed the two evening meals we took.
We found the décor bright and cheerful and the lighting in our room very good, with light at a level which made reading easy, something not found in the majority of hotels and B&Bs.
We did not use the bar and lounge very much, but that was comfortable and had a nice atmosphere, more homely than many and certainly more so than most modern hotel lounges.
Having flown to Ronaldsway and not hired a car, we found the hotel extremely convenient for using public transport (a significant bonus being only one street (about 200m) off the airport bus-route (bus £3.20 , taxi £19). Being just off the Promenade, also made it that little bit more peaceful than being on a main traffic route.
Our choice was made from the list offered by Thomas Cook for its Isle of Man holidays.
The Welbeck is thoroughly recommendable – and we shall do that to our friends.
If we visit Douglas again, we’ll not look for anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bittern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, and found it very comfortable, and the food was excellent.
The only downside was the steep hill leading up to it, and the fairly steep steps, but the hotel has a lift, so no stairs once you're inside.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor or above, would have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.1 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 22 in Douglas
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welbeck Hotel

Property: The Welbeck Hotel
Address: 13 Mona Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Douglas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#2 Family Hotel in Douglas
#4 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Welbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending the style & elegance of a victorian property with all the modern facilities expected by the 21st century traveller, the Welbeck Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments is perfect for leisure and business. Number One Isle of Man Hotel on Tripadvisor since 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Welbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welbeck Hotel Douglas
The Welbeck Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing