We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very satisfiying stay”
Review of The Welbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Welbeck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very satisfiying stay”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Found all that makes up a hotel to be there, building,staff,food etc.. Well positioned just off seafront , an old building but one that the owners had obviously spent a good deal of time and money on to maintain and improve. Our room was clean and well presented (aided by sea view ) The staff were helpful, polite and friendly. Food served at breakfast and dinner was excellent and good selection on menu.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    75
    16
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
127
30
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was our first visit to the Isle of Man and the the staff at the Welbeck hotel really made us welcome. We had a beautiful and spacious room with views of the sea. The food in the restuarant was excellent and the waiting on staff were most attentive. This is a very clean and well run hotel highly recommended.

Regards

Mr & Mrs R G Kane

Room Tip: Corner rooms are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGK027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times whilst visiting friends in the Isle of Man ( I used to live there). and would not stay anywhere else. We had a beautiful room both times, deluxe double , you can see the sea, even though you are not on the promenade. Room so spacious and the biggest bed i have ever seen. Great bathroom.Friendly staff and delicious breakfast. I may travel on my own to see friends and i would have no qualms on staying here on my own, something i would never do. It just feels so comfortable and cosy but still a hotel. Did not eat meals in the hotel apart from breakfast as we like to eat out at different places but have heard great reviews. Keep up the good work Welbeck

Room Tip: Deluxe double,, a little more expensive than the ordinary double but well worth it and good value in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stella s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

As first time visitors to the island and only the internet as a guide we decided on the Welbeck. At first we were a little disappointed at not being on the sea front but later found this to be a bonus as we heard reports of the sea front hotels being a bit noisy at night! The staff were very helpful and attentive and the room and facilities were more than adequate (we had a sea view which was a bonus). The restaurant was good as were the bar snacks. Public transport is just about 100 yds away and there is street parking. Good lounge areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whisstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh (Scotland)
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed at the wellbeck hotel while on business, at first i was a bit nervous as id never been to the isle of man before. The staff are very friendly, and ensure you get everything from your stay. the hotel is very clean and the rooms lovely.
I had my meals in the hotel both nights - excellent food! I am due back on the island in Oct and have already booked another stay :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caz7882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed for three nights and enjoyed each one.
The hotel is located very centrally off the promenade. Which meant we could easily travel to the electric railway or the other way into Douglas town centre.
We had intended Gondar out each night but were unable to find anywhere suitable and so decided to eat at the hotel. We were very glad we did. The food and service was excellent.
The food choices were excellent as was then quality and the service.
Breakfast was just as good.
We would not hesitate ton recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

As the hotel was full, I was upgraded to an apartment, and with a sea view!!! The apartment was well furnished and immaculate.
This is a family-run hotel where attention to detail was obvious throughout. Welcoming, wonderful, friendly staff in the hotel, bar and restaurant. Breakfast and dinner were excellent, with a wide choice on the menu (no problems for vegetarians here!) and both presentation and quality were of a high standard. I spoke to several local people who eat at the restaurant regularly and spoke very highly of it.

Situated just off the main promenade, so quieter, but ideal for public transport.

A highly recommended hotel and restaurant!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tafwys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welbeck Hotel

Property: The Welbeck Hotel
Address: 13 Mona Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#2 Family Hotel in Douglas
#2 Best Value Hotel in Douglas
#4 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Welbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending the style & elegance of a victorian property with all the modern facilities expected by the 21st century traveller, the Welbeck Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments is perfect for leisure and business. Number One Isle of Man Hotel on Tripadvisor since 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Welbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welbeck Hotel Douglas
The Welbeck Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing