We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant”
Review of The Welbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Welbeck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Although slightly dated in appearance the Welbeck was warm and cosy and the staff were friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good. Didn't try the restaurant but regretted it as it looked very busy and our own choice wasn't that great. It's quite close to the casino in the Palace Hotel too which is good. On arrival we followed the directions on the website walking from the sea terminal but they were for a car round the one way system and involved a super-steep hill so if you are walking do the sensible thing and keep to the promenade and turn off at the appropriate road! (Probably quite straightforward for the intelligent). This is still quite a hilly approach for the less than agile. We booked via kgb deals so it was excellent value for money for us.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cheekychubbychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for The Welbeck Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 420 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2012

We had four nights at the Welbeck on a quick decision, last minute trip. Only deluxe room was available, so commenting on that level. This is a three star hotel with five star service. Everyone went all out to help in whatever area needed, and always with a smile. Food just amazing, and plenty of it. If I have to pull it up in any area, it would be in the room to room noise, which all hotels seem to get anyway. I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaspberryLady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I have been returning to stay at the Welbeck whilst visiting the isle of man since 2008 the staff always welcome me like and old friend. The food is excellent. I write this after enjoying a perfect fillet steak. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Murr4y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I only had a short stay here, due to some poor planning at the command level. But what a lovely stay it was. The room I stayed in was a very lovely single. After a full set of XO rounds I can report that the room was up to Admiral rounds standard. It was good to see a fully stocked tea boat, with two packs of biscuits, but I only had the one pack, you know I must keep navy fit. The large telly was a real treat too; it made viewing true blood even more enjoyable. The real treat came when I got turned in, wow what a bed and very good black out blinds, shame I had to get up early, dam the bad planning of my old boss. The only down side is I was so happy I wanted to buy a beer, I know, it wasn’t Christmas but I thought what the hell. I got to the bar only to find no one serving, I waited around for a bit then came to my senses then left before I had to part with any cash. The HOD of the bar needs to re-brief their staff.

Room Tip: My oppos can report all rooms are good.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grumpyoldgunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed here march 12 during our Easter voyage with some Burley sailors, the room could have easily passed as 5 star standard rather than the awarded 3 it has recieved, they were spacious, with quality in every department, curtains, bedding, bathroom , fittings etc etc ..
Good Wi Fi which is a must in these modern but demanding times....we all enjoy a bit of the old Mushroom surfing !?! Breakfast was of a good standard, good to see a bit of smoked fish on the menu...Ding dang bloody doo. say no more...reccomended BZ

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

we stopped at this hotel for two nights 8/10/march and had a great time the girl on the reception was very pleasent and the booking in was a pleasure
the hotel is set back one road up from the promenade and if you dont have a car you would find it very difficult to walk up the street as i did but once in the hotel thank god they had a lift the meals in the hotel were fantastic and very filling and the bar had a good selection of drink all the staffappeared to be enjoying there job and it showed in there faces

Room Tip: any room the hotel as a lift
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alsilverf0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the Welbeck. First time we had a lovely room with an amazingly comfy bed. Good views. Welcoming staff. Really good.
Second time we visited we were in a top room which was set out for self-catering! Had a separate kitchen/diner, lounge area, bedroom and bathroom. Really secluded and quiet. And bed still comfy.
Great breakfast on both visits and nicely situated just off the promenade.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judithWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 15 in Douglas
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#2 of 15 in Douglas
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#4 of 15 in Douglas
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welbeck Hotel

Address: 13 Mona Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Douglas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#2 Family Hotel in Douglas
#4 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: $110 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Welbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending the style & elegance of a victorian property with all the modern facilities expected by the 21st century traveller, the Welbeck Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments is perfect for leisure and business. Number One Isle of Man Hotel on Tripadvisor since 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Welbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welbeck Hotel Douglas
The Welbeck Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing