We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very frienly place”

Harbour Lights Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 154 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are delighted to add a fourth location to our family of restaurants. Previously known as Copperfields Edwardian Restaurant, our new central Douglas location is a perfect mix of old world charm and great seasonal food. Already famous throughout the island, you’ll discover everything you love about Harbour Lights right in the centre of Douglas. Open daily from 10am for Breakfast, we also offer our famous comfort classics menu throughout the day featuring the very best of local produce. Sample our welsh rarebit with smoked salmon or huge beer battered cod served with seasonal vegetables and potato of the day. Alternatively take a break from shopping and pop in for a quick coffee and cake, served all day.Our entire team (many of whom will be familiar) look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful new location.
Douglas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very frienly place”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Went to Harbourlight Peellast week, two people had full afternoon tea, first we had a choice of sandwiches, i went for smoke salmon. And egg my partner went to egg and tuna and cucumber they were well presented and crusts removed which i like, next we had a lovely warmed scone with cream butter and jam and a slice of victoria sponge, the fresh cream was presented with a profiterole on top which looked lovely. The staff were two young girls who were well presented, friendly, helpful and were very busy. The price was a little high but a lovely treat and its a place we look to go so we will be back

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HattieDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    64
    24
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quaint tea rooms”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Came here for my birthday breakfast on Friday morning with a group of friends. Lovely furnished place with friendly staff and a large menu. Quite expensive and the special breakfast (around 11 quid) was normally out of my price range. The staff need to really big this breakfast up as it was pure quality. Lovely parts of the breakfast and they put the beans in a pot! Lots of toast and some delicious salted friend potatoes.

I strongly recommend this place. Certainly higher in price than its competitors but higher in quality and general dining experience too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jack_dylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic little chain of restaurants”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I don't think this one is quite as good as it's sister café in Peel, but still an excellent place for an afternoon tea. The decor is certainly above the Peel cafe but the staff just seemed a little friendlier at the other one. Both have baby changing facilities and free wifi, so perfect for us visiting with our 20 month old daughter! Definitely worth a visit!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Naomi1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good customer service”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

There are a few Harbour lights restaurants. We went to the one at Peel. It is quaint with a homely feel. The food is of good quality. I had a problem with my meal and the girls were very apologetic and sorted it out.
Good customer service means a lot.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“food good”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

we went in there to have dinner last week on hour holiday as a group of 9,we got there got seated right away got menus then we sat there 20 minutes before anyone came to ask about drinks,finally someone came then took drinks order then some time went before the food order was taken,we all had starters so about over 1 hour after we got there starters came out apart the one for my husband we sat there and waited and waited then we saw the same server who brought our starters serving main courses to the table next to us!i was just about to go and find someone and ask about the missing starter then he just came out with it but with 2 of the same!main course arrived very fast after wards,i had the battered cod and with out a lie it was massive!!shame I could not eat all because food was very nice!!my husband had the same just as massive!!it says it comes with pickeld onion and it was missing, same on his starter the king prawn was missing, nobody came and asked if everything was ok with the food we had to wave to staff to get attention,overall it seemed the staff were stressed but there was only about 23 dinners in,i felt the service was a let down food was great!!not sure if I would go there again on my next visit to IOM. we got there for 7.30pm and didn't got out till about 11pm because of the slow service, plus side when we actually ask for the bill one waiter apologised for the wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moonshinebct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Lights Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Harbour Lights Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing