We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab, friendly and welcoming”
Review of Kings Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Douglas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kings Guest House
Ranked #20 of 36 Douglas B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We loved this little guest house.

The ladylady is very welcoming, friendly and helpful.

Breakfasts were lovely and the bed was so comfy I didn't want to go home!

Locked garage for your bike which was a great touch.

Lovely bedrooms and en suites and a very cosy lounge area too.

Loved waking up to the horse trams clip clopping up and down and looking at the sea from the sea view.
A couple of people have said about rush hour traffic and it vbeing noisy. We didn't think it was at all and really enjoyed our room and stay.

We will definately come back to this lovely place.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs let the lady know as the top floor rooms are lots of stairs!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Kings Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 43 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2014

My wife and I stay at the Kings Guest House for 4 nights, our room was with a sea view which was excellent. Carol is a very friendly host, nothing was a problem at all. Breakfast is first class and you need a good appetite as there is plenty to eat. As others have said, parking for your Motorbike is great in locked garage. This Guest house provides good value for money, so book with no worries.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John and Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights during June 2014, excellent parking for motorbike as it was in a locked garage, the last night it was left outside however this is no issue in the isle of man. the beds in room 4 were really good some of the best nights sleep we have had for a while!! the last night we moved to room 2 with a sea view - but the back view was better no noise. breakfast is full English or bits of a full English - toast and cornflakes - but this was very well cooked and very nice. In all a very good stay we would certainty stay here again!!!

Room Tip: rooms at the back are better, traffic noise at sea views
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chsoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights during May bank holiday weekend with a friend and our motorbikes.
Twin room with en-suite was the perfect size for us and the nearby comfy lounge with good sea views was ideal to chill out in.
Breakfast had a good choice and was just the right quantity which saw us through most of the day...bargain!
Roadside parking seems to be first come, first served for cars but as we were on bikes, the spacious electric opening garage was ideal for our bikes and peace of mind.
Very friendly and accommodating host topped everything off nicely and I would certainly look to stay again when I visit the island next.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Great welcome, all you could want and excellent value for money.
Power showers with great toiletries with an excellent breakfast and a sea view - super.

A very pleasant walk into Douglas along the promenade, restaurants and pubs also close.

Secure parking for motorbike was very welcome.

Book with confidence.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
Thank RichardsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hosts were friendly and even though we arrived early afternoon we were taken straight to our room. Breakfasts were very good except that I would have liked a selection of fresh fruit, maybe bananas instead of the same 4 or so apples that were there the whole time we were there. This is only a minor point though. The owner and staff were very helpful and we, especially. were grateful for us being allowed to hang around on the last day and use our room for toilet facilities, as we were not leaving until 2pm for our 4' clock flight. I realise this might not be available if the hotel was full in high season. Good pub restaurant next door and I could recommend the Irish stew. Also, the Aroma restaurant buffet, a few minutes walk towards the centre which had Chinese and Indian buffet. Another good one, The Imperial Dragon Chinese restaurant in the same direction was very nice and did a good buffet too.

Room Tip: Ask for lower room if you are older and don't want to walk up 4 flights of stairs. 25 min walk t...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manchesterShirley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times recently. The host Carol is helpful, friendly & informal in a positive sense.
The Kings is situated away from the bustle of the town centre conveniently placed between the Queens pub & the Terminus tavern, both of which are great places to eat & drink.
The town centre is about 20-30 minute walk away although in the Summer, you can catch the Horsetram which stops pretty much outside the frontdoor.
The rooms have always been clean, spacious & comfortable. There is a bit of clutter but the large rooms complete with good TVs & power shower make up for this.
Wi-fi is available free although as posted can be a bit iffy the higher you go. but as said, this can be enjoyed in the comfy lounge overlooking the sea.
Breakfast is great with plenty of choice & service efficient.
We've never had a bad nights sleep here & enjoy being woken by the horses going past & looking out of the window of the sea-view rooms.

Overall excellent & we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b0xer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 15 in Douglas
627 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Arrandale House & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Mereside
Mereside
#14 of 36 in Douglas
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Guest House

Address: Queens Promenade, Douglas
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Kings Guest House Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing