We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Service”
Review of The Courthouse

The Courthouse
Ranked #26 of 155 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Isle of Man
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The restaurant is situated in the Island's former Douglas Courthouse. The building was rescued from possible demolition, the front facade protected, and the inside restored to a high standard. The eating area and bar is bright and modern in appearance with comfortable seating.

The food is well prepared and there is really good service. a most enjoyable experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Manxtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    67
    24
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic service - but very cold”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had a lovely meal at the Courthouse for my birthday with family. Food was excellent - nothing complicated but very tasty and well presented.
BBQ ribs were melt in the mouth, beef 'n' reef (steak + prawns) was perfect, duck in a berry reduction possibly slightly underdone. The burger ended up the most expensive item as they charge a lot for every topping!
The waitress was very good and service was prompt. The room however was VERY COLD and I almost asked for my coat back.
We had a couple of vouchers from Isle of Deals for a half price meal as otherwise this would have been a very expensive night out (£45 per person). That included 2 G+Ts and a relatively inexpensive bottle of wine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drjillb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Isle of Man
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My parents and I dined here on Tuesday. The menu offers a good variety. I had the "Beef 'n' Reef" (or Surf 'n' Turf), which was gorgeous. Our hostess was very professional, and impressed us with knowing the menu and also asking about how pink my mum would prefer her 'medium' steak- and it was served just right. Very enjoyable evening, although could do with a little less air con, was a little chilly. Would definitely visit again, though!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent food and comfortable surroundings”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Excellent choice of food and a good wine list, a little overpriced but well worth a visit,
Parking is sometimes a problem at lunchtime.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onchan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overrated and Overpriced”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Courthouse was just never right: too large a space for what can almost always only be a small clientele. Overpriced drinks and very much an atmosphere of "see and be seen" - If that's what you want, you have found the place! If not, you will be disappointed as I have been : ( *

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank IsabeauMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Courthouse also viewed

 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to The Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing