We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Evening Meal, Overnight Stay & Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caledonia Hotel

Caledonia Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caledonia Hotel
Ranked #13 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Evening Meal, Overnight Stay & Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We bought a special discount voucher including an evening meal in the hotels excellent Chinese restaurant (The Imperial Dragon) followed by an overnight stay and full breakfast.

The food was very good both during the evening meal and at breakfast. The staff were fantastic and very helpful. We had a sea view, which was lovely and the room was well appointed and clean. We will definitely stay again.

There is plenty of parking close by and the hotel does have a lift. Value for money is excellent!

Room Tip: Wednesday night is Banquet night in the restaurant which is very good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manxman12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    30
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
26
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had a four night stay over the New Year period in a small back bedroom on the second floor despite there being only one other hotel guest! Yes we were offered a room with a view but as we live on the coast anyway didn't see the point in paying extra.

The shower room/toilet had to be negotiated sideways as it was so small so is no good for anyone carrying any extra pounds!

Friendly manager and hotel owner who came each morning to cook the breakfast. But oh dear the evening waitress could barely understand the English language so orders were continually repeated even for a jug of iced water which arrived as a couple of ice cubes in a glass which she then poured water onto before taking the jug away again! Also completely forgot to bring the rice to accompany the meal which as we were short for time did without. On bringing this to the managers attention he did give us a 50% discount but it was a shame as the meal did taste very good and they were not at all busy!

Regarding the hotels décor its clearly due refurbishment throughout along with most seafront hotels in Douglas. Some are being updated but it was also sad to see most establishments were closed so really not much choice during the winter months. Not much going on either so don't bother with the IOM in winter unless you're into masochistic wet winter walks!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I Made My Reservation Over The Phone From The US And Confirmed Via Email. I Did Receive A Midnight Phone Call From My Credit Card Company A Few Weeks Later When TheyTried To Run My Card Prior To My Stay. I Called And Didn't Get A Good Explanation.
Location Is Nice--Right On The Main Drag. I Walked From The Ferry. Checking In And GettingTo My Room Was Easy. They Do Have A Small Lift, which Was Nice. (The Other Place I StayedIn Douglas, The Ellan Vannin, Was Amazing (!), But I Was On The Top Floor With No Lift.)
Breakfast Was Standard, But Nice.
Check Out Is At 10, Which I FoundTo Be Early. It Took Me Longer To Repack Than I Anticipated And At 9:55, I Had A Knock AtThe Door From A Woman (Staff) Telling Me They Would Charge Me If I Didn't Get Moving. I've Never Had Something Like That Happen anywhere, And Couldn't Believe They Were Pressuring Me Five Minutes Before Check Out. It Wouldn't Be My First Choice In Douglas, But It Wouldn't Be My Last Either.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rgrace33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Friendly welcome from the moment we checked in. Large bedroom with en suite and separate dressing area. Clean and tidy throughout. Our room was at back of hotel which ensured a quiet night sleep. Our evening meal was really good. The timing of each course was right not rushed and gave time to enjoy the evening. The staff were friendly, enjoyed the banter and jokes, and attentive throughout our stay. The breakfast was a choice of 6 cereal, orange juice, toast and preserves, full English or other options, with tea or coffee, couldnt eat any more, great. Would definately look to return again. Thanks

Room Tip: Option for a sea view available but face a busy road and promenade, would have to consider the trade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManxCats2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Been staying here for 17years and have never had a bad stay. The hotel is spotlessly clean and has a real homely feel on arrival. The owner of the Hotel is a really special lady, Lai Ming, she does everything she can for her guests and even helps in the kitchens coking the breakfasts. She can be seen mingling with the guets and is really friendly. The housekeeping staff are really friendly and work really hard to keep the hotel spotlessly clean. The breakfasts are really good and Looby is really efficent! I could not remember all the orders they way she does. Looby even remembers what you want the next morning for breakfast and when she has learnt that you drink tea/coffee she brings it to you when you enter the didning room for breakfast. The rooms are really well looked after, the beds are spotless and the rooms are cleaned daily. The hotel restraunt is faboulous !!! The Cantonese and Peking dishes are to die for, the food is a bit dearer but it is well worth it. A meal out is dear these days, and comapred to others its not that bad. Especially the crispy fried duck. I would recomend this hotel to those who want a more relaxing stay on the Island. The location of the hotel is brillant, close to local MER station, on the local bus route and in the summer the horse trams stop just above the hotel. A twenty to thirty minute walk form the town. Until my arrival on the island as a resident, I will continue to stay with Lai Ming and the staff of the Caledonia Hotel. The free WiFi is an added bonus to the guests. The WiFi lounge is brillant for the buisiness man/woman or just those who cant holiday without the internert at their side. Really well done. Keep up the good work !!! :D

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are the best. Breath taking views night or day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

on arrival no staff having waited half hour we left came back 3 hours later still no staff had to use hotel booklet to phone man not happy gave us key and left. on other hand room lovely and clean chambermaids lovely (only staff seen) other than waitress in morning. breakfast awful 1 sausage 1 slice bacon 1 egg 1 hash brown half tomato sausage and hashbrown tasted of chinese food inedible. i wouldnt stay here again as part of holiday is a nice cooked breakfast this was rank.

Room Tip: i stayed room 3 lovely clean fresh good view of prom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddy19liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three days on a deal fair value but the room was very small (20) but being only my grandson and myself just right. Beware of the lifts in these seafront hotels as they only take 4 people with a squeeze with no room for luggage. 2 people plus luggage is ok. Breakfast ok if a little small as it is served not buffet style. A lot of things (Grapefruit, kippers) have to be ordered a day in advance, not quite what one expects. Staff very nice and helpful. I possibly might stay again but I do have 2 preferences.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonia Hotel

Property: Caledonia Hotel
Address: 17 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NE
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caledonia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonia Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing