We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macfarlanes

Macfarlanes
Ranked #8 of 152 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is a small restaurant, made bigger by mirrors along the wall. The food was excellent but the atmosphere was affected by the high backed booths that lined one side. They were comfortable to sit in but I prefer a more open, friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marshall04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    53
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We have been visiting the Isle of Man now for the past 6 years. McFarlanes was recommended to us about 3 years ago and we have dined there on each visit. The food is delicious, well presented and keenly priced. Staff and owners are friendly and make you feel very welcome. Although the dining area is a little on the small side it has a nice cosy intimate feel to it. The hig back seats give you privacy to enjoy your meal. Roy takes time out to speak to his customers and is always available to advise you on your meal and make any changes you require. Unfortunately In September we didn't get the pleasure to dine in McFarlanes but this was our own fault as we left it too late to book. This show just how popular this restaurant is. We will back in April 2012 and will definately book well in advance.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryW799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“one of my favourite places to eat, and certainly the best place to eat on the IOM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

A family run restaurant where the welcome is always friendly and genuine. The seating area provides ample room for each diner and some tables are within high backed booths. I like the fact that you can see into the kitchen which is always calm and quietly organised. The food is incredible....fish is always a delight and the dressed crab was probably the best I ever tasted. A great menu is devised and changed regularly to suit the season which is inventive with fresh, clean tastes in the dishes. You can just taste the experience and desire to please from the chef with every bite!
I have been here numerous times with friends and husband, and can't leave IOM without a visit!!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chrissy186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I thought that really good food on the isle of man was a myth, not any more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

Food was superb, service was fantastic, i thought food like that on the isle of man was a non starter, but how wrong was I! We will be back.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iomjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“excellent food and service and very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

We went here twice during TT week, first visit we were lucky to get a cancelled table as very busy.
A very cosy restaurant with excellent food both seafood and meat. The service was excellent and waiter was very friendly and helpful.
Booked for our second visit and were not dissapointed. Would definitely go here again best restaurant we visited in Douglas.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arowleybrereton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macfarlanes also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Macfarlanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing