We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Douglas”
Review of The Tickethall

The Tickethall
Ranked #35 of 155 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Douglas”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I organised a walking holiday for a group of 20 people in the Isle of Man staying in Douglas. Each evening we ate in a different restaurant and by far the best was the Tickethall. It is situated next to the steam train station, so a little walk from the main promenade. The best description is fine dining at very reasonable prices. There was no pre-ordering as Steve, the proprietor didn't know in advance what the catch of the day from his fisherman friend would be nor what fresh vegetables would be ready for picking, so all very fresh food. We had the up-stairs area to ourselves and Steve, personally made sure that we were satisfied with the meal. If you're in Douglas you must visit the Tickethall for either breakfast, lunch or evening meal, if our experience is anything to go by you'll not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelatheorganiser6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    46
    9
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“THE best food....never fails to impress!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We visit the Ticket Hall probably once a month and the food and ambience has has never failed to impress! The place gets better with each visit! We have been with a party of four, a party of six, a party of twelve and this weekend we had a party of 22! The food and the service were second to none. Don't know how they do it for so many covers but all our food arrived within five to ten minutes for the entire table and was as stunning as ever! Well done Steve and team! The best place on the Island to eat out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A super gem”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Having seen the review on trip advisor we visited on a Friday afternoon with a view to booking a table for that night. We met Steve who told us he was fully booked but he would see what he could do. While we enjoyed a cup of tea under the verandah the found us a slot for Saturday. Wow were we glad he did! The meal was just fabulous. Manx queenies to die for, lamb so succulent, hake which was so fresh and the gorgeous chocolate puddings. The staff friendly, attentive but not pushy and a feature was that Steve would appear periodically and ask all the dinners if all was well. We wish there was a place like this in our home town and wholeheartedly recommend it. Thank you Steve and good luck!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faircross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great value meal.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The meal was brilliant. There was good choice and was excellent value for money. Two courses for £17.50, three for £22.50.
The 'cheese table' was great - so many different cheeses and you could go back for more. We didn't as the first two courses had filled us and we only had a nibble at the cheese table.
Would definitely go again if we could get in. You need to book weeks in advance.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Manxie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal in lovely surroundings.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We popped into the tickethall for a coffee before catching the train, chatting to Steve, the chef, we were lucky enough to get a table for the Friday supper club. The usual waiting list is about 3 weeks, so advance booking is well advised. I have never tasted such well cooked, and presented food, at such a reasonable price in a long time, I was a chef/catering manager for 30 years, so that statement doesn't come lightly! the Queeni Risotto was so creamy and tasty, cooked to perfection, my Skate, pan fried in butter & capers was so meltingly wonderful, sorry we couldn't manage the Cheese table or puds, no room! the BYO option as they are not licensed meant you had the wine you know you like, not "menu" offerings, chosen by someone else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ladysignaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tickethall also viewed

 

Been to The Tickethall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing