We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of 14 North

14 North
Ranked #3 of 155 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a very good meal at 14 North. They had a great wine menu. They had some interesting beer selections as well. The Queenie appetizer we had was the best we had on the island. Skip the flatbread though, as it was just mediocre pizza. All the other food we ate, really was great though. I can still taste the Queenies though. The restaurant is along the North Quay which is a really fun area of town, with plenty of restaurants and bars.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dmend05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    133
    35
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fantastic food that is consistently excellent”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was eaten here many times, and am never disappointed. Phil, the restaurant manager is fantastic, very knowledgable and friendly. My favourite dish is the Manx lamb with red wine jus and the asiette of desserts which is outstanding. Brunch is also good and the cocktails wonderful. I very much recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Misti66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This restaurant had a good choice and the food was excellent. The waitress also made a real effort to be helpful and was very cheery. Al in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ErnieGodalming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“14 North: always true.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Have eaten here on numerous occasions, and never been disappointed. Minimal food miles, maximal taste and presentation, really does Manx produce well. Add to that friendly, knowledgeable service and lively ambience, and you get my favourite local restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Manxmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food, cozy atmosphere”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The food was delicious, and very reasonable. The atmosphere was very nicely finished, and cozy. Best food on the island!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrogFan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 14 North also viewed

 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to 14 North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing