We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (771)
Filter reviews
770 results
Traveler rating
233
254
164
71
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
233
254
164
71
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews atrium room sir norman the harbour lights restaurant isle of man swimming pool separate shower balcony overlooking car park gaiety theatre lovely hotel some tlc bar food sea front walk in shower douglas bay good nights sleep breakfast was excellent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 770 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2019

The Sefton hotel is a four star hotel situated in Douglas on the Isle of Man.
It provides the visitor with a wide selection of comforts from the very spacious and equipped rooms to the fantastic atrium feature located within the centre of the hotel.
The atrium has a waterfall and pond feature containing exotic fish and plants.
As the atrium is overlooked by many of the rooms equipped with balconies, this gives the visitor a feeling of staying in a warmer more tropically climate.
I well recommend this hotel as it provides great value for money also.

Room tip: Choose a room overlooking the atrium to take advantage of the water features therein.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alankeogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelManager, General Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

I also do love the atrium gardens with the waterfall and pond.

We do hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Again thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019

This is grand old British promenade seaside hotel that has seen much, much better days. It is under the 'Best Western' chain who seem to specialise in low-to-middling standard places and this old lady is in need of some serious investment. The décor is faded and dated, seventies perhaps as much as eighties. The carpets are worn and dirty; doors, skirting boards and walls chipped, stained and frayed. Staff not terribly interested. The corridors bear notices asking guests to be patient whilst renovations take place but there wasn't much evidence. Generally a pretty depressing experience. It claims four stars but in its current run-down state three would be more appropriate.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhodriMawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

Dear RhodriMawr,

Thank you for leaving us your feedback. We are currently renovating the hotel and for that I apologise for the bad experience. We have sent your feedback to the personnel concerned. Thanks Again


Kindest Regards,
David Codinha
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2019 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location on the bay. It couldn't be better. Its currently getting renovated and it certainly needs it in parts. Otherwise the staff are friendly, rooms are very large and breakfast is excellent. I'd certainly stay there again next time I'm on the island.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank PMHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2019

Dear PMHiggins,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback with regards your most recent stay at Sefton Hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us, and found our staff to be friendly, breakfast to be excellent and rooms to be large.

With my sincere thanks for you selecting our hotel for your Isle of Man stay, and for your care and attention in leaving us a lovely review! We will look forward to see you in a near future.

Kind regards
David Codinha
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019 via mobile

My daughters arranged afternoon tea at £22.95 per head it wasvery nice but was not value for money the sandwiches were spread out on plates very clever to make it look like you got more than you did i worked it out that between the three of us we got 6slices of bread my daughter who is a vegetarian had one small triangle with nothing on it except for a piece of butter yes thats right a piece of butter. The pieces of cake were the size of a thumbnail again on a tray spread out to look like you got more with tiny ice-cream cones which i didnt understand what that was about and they were the size of your little finger. It was a rip off completely and utterly i felt like oliver twist and wanted to ask for more please total cost of £70for the three of us. I wont be going there again it will be the t junction for us in future who always provide loads of food and certainly dont spread out sandwiches and give normal sized cakes i felt totally ripped off

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelManager, General Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feed back.

I am sorry that your expectations were not met.

I will of course pass your comments on to Harbor lights at the Sefton.

If you contact Harbor lights at the Sefton i am sure the Harbor lights Manager would like to deal with your complaint.

Kindest regards

Sefton Group Hotels Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019

Hotel is in a great central location on the promenade, superb views across the bay. We had a room overlooking the internal courtyard, nice but room dated and also has a fairly bad smell from the drains - strong smell of disinfectant in the morning so obviously a problem, hopefully just a one off. Staff fairly helpful and friendly, overall a good value for money hotel.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelManager, General Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We value all our feedback which helps us improve for future guests.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope that you will stay again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews