We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (774)
Filter reviews
774 results
Traveler rating
234
257
164
71
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
234
257
164
71
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews atrium room sir norman the harbour lights restaurant isle of man swimming pool separate shower balcony overlooking car park gaiety theatre lovely hotel some tlc bar food sister hotel sea front walk in shower douglas bay good nights sleep
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 774 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel friendly staff & perfect location right in the heart of Douglas overlooking the sea. Delicious breakfast a vast amount of food to choose from. Nothing was too much trouble for all the staff. Only one downside as I smoke. You have to go outside the hotel entrance which was really inconvenient for me. Should have a smoking area for guests that smoke. Other than that every thing was perfect ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Q7793EWkarens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to submit a 4 star review.

We are delighted to receive your complimentary feedback ..... such personal comments are ALWAYS appreciated and we will of course pass your review on to the relevant staff. we have also noted your comments

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017

Our Horticultural Society from Wales ,42 of us spent 5 days exploring the Island.
We were based at The Sefton Hotel in Douglas, we are quite a fussy crowd and noisy !
we were given the Atrium rooms based in the centre of the hotel, they were superb !
clean , well decorated,comfortable beds and quiet, the food was excellent considering the crowd we were, we had amazing buffet style meals at nigh and lovely breakfast, the staff were courteous and helpful and always jolly, thank you, I for one will be back !

Room tip: Atrium for comfort and tranquility
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to submit a 5 star review.

We are delighted to receive your complimentary feedback ..... such personal comments are ALWAYS appreciated and we will of course pass your review on to the relevant staff. we have also noted your comments

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

We stayed here for the first time as a break from Home.
We have stayed many years ago and it was outstanding. The bedrooms overlooking the Atrium and were exceptionally hot, even with a fan at night. We did mention it at reception and so did two other guests but nothing was done to help us. Receptionist said nobody had ever complained before. The swimming pool was very small so leisure facilities were not as good as on website. Sir Norman's was good value but Harbour Lights was expensive and disappointing as no set price menu.
It is not the Sefton of a few years ago. First floor restaurant used for breakfast only , what a waste, when there are such wonderful views from the Windows.Saunas not working!

Room tip: Get a sea view , refuse Atrium or it will be like a Sauna.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017


Thank you for submitting feedback following on from your visit with us. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we have noted your comments.

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Really super hotel. Location perfect for walking the length of the promenade down to the Electric Railway.
Hotel has a character all of its own. Room spacious beautiful white linen bedding and large white towels plenty of toiletries.
Food superb - plenty of choice and the hotel staff only too pleased to help you choose.

Nice pool and spa area - all in all a very comfortable and welcoming hoel

Room tip: our room overlooked the atrium on the first floor - had patio doors and balcony perhaps unusual but it worked! Really beautiful
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivaylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to submit a 5 star review.

We are delighted to receive your complimentary feedback ..... such personal comments are ALWAYS appreciated and we will of course pass your review on to the relevant staff. we have also noted your comments

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile

We have stayed on IOM a few times at 4*and 5* establishments. We were a bit sceptical as reviews were hit and miss. I cannot praise this place enough. The first room we were offered was an Atrium room which we'd booked. It had a tiny balcony so we went back to reception to ask for a bigger one. No problem and an apology. The new room was amazing. Spotless, huge bed, huge bathroom and balcony. Lovely. The breakfast was decent- haven't ordered a la carte but I will tomorrow.
The hotel bar is lovely. Same price as rest of island. The staff are just amazing. Dino was funny and informative. I would not stay anywhere else apart from here again. Well worth it.
And there is an air-con unit in the room if you need it.
Definitely definitely stay here.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank benicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to submit a 5 star review.

We are delighted to receive your complimentary feedback about the rooms and the staff in particular Dino ..... such personal comments are ALWAYS appreciated and we will of course pass your review on to the relevant staff. we have also noted your comments

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews