We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contrary to the moaners - we were quite happy !!”
Review of Sefton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sefton Hotel
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Contrary to the moaners - we were quite happy !!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

OK so the hotel is in need of a referb in places but modernisation would ruin its Victorian charm although there is a wonderful Atrium behind which is out of site from the front.
We had a 3rd floor sea view - reasonable room large bathroom bath and separate shower - comfortable bed and the food is good compliments to Carol the chef. Sir Norman is a nice bar with tv screens for the world cup and framed posters of the theatres and cinemas of the past in Douglas. So where else would the moaners stay? Best Western Palace ex Hilton and the now closed but wonderful Castle Mona our old favourite both of which I think the Sefton now own.
For those critics who think the Travelodge is what it's all about as standards go then get real and enjoy some character with the Gaiety and Marina next door and centrally placed this is the Isle of Man enjoy the fact they don't like change here and go see for yourself !!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for a sea view room you will regret it if you don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeftonHotelManager, General Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It was really good to read it and the team will appreciate it as they do work incredibly hard to make our all of our guests feel important and valued. Thanks again. look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    197
    123
    55
    32
See reviews for
79
241
27
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

So very disappointed to be writing this review, I've given it much thought and waited for feedback but none was forthcoming so here is it. Absolutely no reflection on Tony and his team who we treat like members of our family and we will miss them dearly.

This was our umpteenth visit to the hotel, we have had the same room for many a year, for the TT and have always accepted its little faults as being part of the charm of this fabulous hotel. We have a lovely warm, relationship with all the staff and it really is like coming home.

This year, we arrived to find the lift usually just outside our room was out of order, not a huge problem, but inconvenient especially as we have a wheelchair user in our group who can walk with difficulty, who did struggle with the extra distance required from working lift to room. The room we had allocated to us is a family room which meets our particular need, as we have to have support with us and Tony the hotel Manager has always made sure that we a) got this room and b) ensured that we got the best possible deal which was firm but fair. To book an accessible room and carers room would blow our budget out of the water.

Service was as excellent as always, housekeeping fabulous, waiters especially in the carvery and breakfast room remembered us from previous years and we had a real giggle with them.

The disappointment came when we checked out and as per previous years we tried to book 'our room' for next years TT. Only to be told by a very embarrassed member of the reception staff that he was so sorry but they were under orders not to take any bookings from any guests and when we were home we were to book direct with central reservations. He was mortified as he knows us well and other guests who had, had this information relayed to them apparently were as unhappy as we were. There were a few members of staff at reception and each one chipped in with a comment, they clearly were not happy but had to do as they were told.

When we were discussing the lift, or lack of one!!! ( I enquired at the start of the holiday if it would be fixed anytime soon and was told no) I was told that a brand new lift shaft was needed and the hotel hadn't even had tendered for quotes yet, so it was going to be weeks if not months before it was fixed.

I really feel for the staff, they are as passionate about the hotel as I am, and really want it to continue to be the success it was in the past. Year on year the same team are on hand with very few changes, its clear staff retention is good and a credit to the Management of the Sefton.

However it seems a more corporate non personalised system is now taking over. I tried to re book, on our return as instructed only to be told that they only had 2 twin rooms available at £220 per room per night, the room we had had was booked and basically I got the feeling that customer loyalty counts for nothing anymore as there will always be someone to take our place and 'it makes better business sense financially to book centrally', Apparently I should have booked while on the island, but I didn't know things had changed and had always re booked on check out. Also I was asked if I had raised the issue about the lift with staff which I had but what difference would that have made anyway? It was never going to be fixed while we were there.

I asked if the Sefton group had a carers policy and was asked what that was? Which didn't bode well. the DDA was mentioned as non applicable on the island, but this was nothing to do with the DDA. A carers policy (with many hotels, businesses, leisure and entertainment venues on board) is where an acknowledgement is made that without a carer accompanying a person who has a physical, sensory or mental health need. That person would not be able to visit an establishment for example some hotel chains have a policy where an adjoining room is offered complimentary to the carer excluding any meals. When I explained this to the Central Reservations Manager I was told that the Sefton group did not do that, they had never heard of it.

I was never looking for a freebie, just an acknowledgement that any hotel stay is expensive and having to pay additional costs for a carer clearly impacts, and can make or break a decision to stay or not, either for financial or safety reasons.

Anyway, the upshot is that it looks like our relationship with the Sefton is sadly over, we love the place and the staff, we are honestly genuinely devastated that we won't be staying there again............despite the hotels hiccups which come with age and as I have said before add to the charm.

I just hope with this new way of doing things, the people you clearly are looking to attract will put up with the finding of a note on the bed to say they may or may not have hot water, a lift that is out of order for the foreseeable, a swimming pool that is sadly no more but still on many sites, rooms with no air con, worn carpets, wallpaper and curtains that really need updating. I hope they do because the staff really deserve the highest of compliments as it is they I am convinced are keeping visitors happy. The Sefton is a part of 'our' history and we have so many happy memories that we will cherish forever, I hope we do get back one day and I hope that Central Reservations take a lesson in meeting customer need, regardless of disability, as it stands its sadly lacking.

Meanwhile, we look for somewhere to stay for TT 2015 :(

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jovi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelManager, General Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. I do thank you for your kind comments with regard to the Hotel and indeed the team and service. I am pleased with the 4 pip rating. I was disappointed to read the negatives in regard to your reservation for next year's TT. The Festival is getting busier and busier and there were over 50,000 visitors this year. As you can imagine rooms are in massive demand. We do most certainly value massively out past guests and I am sorry that you were not able to make a reservation for 2015. Thanks once again and my apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed for 5 days in May just before the TT. The hotel is very tired. Itl does not live up to its website advertisement. We had a room with a sea view which was great but the general decoration in the room was very tired and everything could do with being updated. On the plus side the staff are very good with a possible exception of some of the receiption staff. Not my idea of a 4 Star hotel. Would look to stay elsewhere on our next visit.

Room Tip: If you can afford it have a suite. I have been told these are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoeBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for submitting feedback following on from your stay with us. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we have noted your comments. We do have a number improvements planned for this year which hopefully will address some of the points you have raised. Thank you for your comments regarding our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2014

As a regular to the island and especially for the TT, there is nowhere else that we would have rather stayed - until this visit........
We arrived early and hotel staff booked us in to our room. On entering there was an overpowering smell of dampness and drains. As there was no phone in the room (usually provided as standard), I walked down to reception to explain. They sent housekeeping straight to us with some febreeze and domestos - hardly the 'specialist stuff we have for the drains' which reception staff claimed they would be using.
In the midst of this we discovered *used* ladies facial wipes next to the bed, the room didn't appear to have been cleaned properly! This, coupled with the awful smell in the room saw us go to reception a second time.
The person we spoke to on reception had the audacity to respond by saying 'I've just been in and it didn't smell'! No apology for the smell or the fact that the room hadn't been cleaned!
We had to be really quite firm in requesting another room, which we did eventually get. Whilst it was a vast improvement on the first one, most of the windows were broken and couldn't be opened.
On a positive note the breakfast team and their service was excellent as usual.
As a normally very happy customer at The Sefton who recommends the hotel to friends, I have been extremely disappointed by this most recent visit and am not sure if I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caninekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following on from your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems with the cleanliness of your room - this is something we normally pride ourselves on and we do apologise most sincerely for the distress and inconvenience caused. Please rest assured that all feedback is taken seriously.

On the positive side, we are pleased you found the breakfast team and their service excellent.

Once again please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. If you do wish to make a reservation in the future please feel free to email me prior to booking and I will ensure you see the Group at its best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Good centrally located hotel. Stayed for 3 nights during the TT practice week. It was clean, well appointed with a large bedroom and en-suite bathroom. Easy booking, free car parking. As we were placed at the back of the hotel the view out of the windows was terrible (the back alley, rubbish bins and fire escapes) and we almost needed a map to get through the labyrinth of corridors. However, the room was fine and met our needs. As it was TT week the hotel put up it's prices at the end of the week from £100 per night to £225 per night so a bit pricey!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for submitting feedback following on from your stay with us. The Sefton is a mixture of "Victorian" and "modern" and as such tends to be a little quirky in character with a number of inter-connecting corridors as you mention. We are pleased however that you found your room clean and well apointed and overall met your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have just been to Douglas, for the three leg golf Challenge staying at the Sefton. Eight of us. Two couples had good views of the sea front. two had rooms without a view. The Hotel could do with a revamp as the view from our window looked like rubbish had been dumped outside. It could be made better. The breakfast was very enjoyable plenty to choose from We enjoyed Porridge and Manx Kippers. On the Sunday our friends returned at four o clock and the room had not been cleaned. The staff were very a logging. On the Saturday evening we wanted a quiet coffee. The Sir Norman bar was crowded with Hen Nights theatre goers and people watching videos of the TT races. On the Isle they have no speed restriction and we came across a lot of Restaurant.
On the whole eye enjoyed our stay but more could be done about views from rooms.
Not to sure if I would recommend this Hotel but would go to Douglas again

Room Tip: Request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for submitting feedback following your stay with us. Please accept our apologies that your friend's room had not been cleaned prior to returning to the hotel - we will take this up with our Housekeeping Team. We are pleased however you enjoyed your breakfasts and were able to enjoy our lovely "Manx kippers" and pleased overall that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
221 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Sefton was "constructed" from some old Victorian boarding houses in the centre of Douglas promenade. The "conversion" was tastefully done, retaining the entire facade and most of the original buildings and adding a new section with high atrium behind. All rooms are modern, clean and fully equipped.

Service at The Sefton is excellent and the food is of a high standard. Prices are maybe a fraction on the high side, but Douglas is not too well blessed with better-end hotels. The location could not be better, being right next to the Gaiety Theatre and having Strand Street 9the main shopping street in Douglas) just 50 metres away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gramer999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for submitting a review and thank you for your positive comments. As you say, the hotel is a blend of "Victorian" and "modern" and of course the location is a big plus. We are always delighted to receive favourable comments regarding our service and food and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.5 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Property: Sefton Hotel
Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#6 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he 4-star Sefton Hotel is located in Douglas on the beachfront. It boasts a unique indoor water garden and eateries. The rooms at the Sefton feature flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and some rooms have views of Douglas Bay and the water garden. There are also luxury 5-star suites, complete with hot tubs, iPod docking stations and their own kitchenette. Enjoy a light bite, main meal or dessert in the themed Sir Norman's Bar and enjoy its extensive selection of wines and local ales. A more fine dining experience can be had in the Harbour Lights at The Sefton. The Sefton Hotel also boasts a tranquil pool and a library where guests can relax with a drink or a book. The Atrium Water Garden provides a stunning backdrop to enjoy a drink. The ferry port is a 10-minute walk away. Parking is available onsite, nominal parking charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas
Sefton Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing