We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sefton Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernhurst Lodge(Blackburn)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveler rating
209
229
141
66
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
229
141
66
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatrium roomnorman wisdomsir normansgrand hotelisle of manthe harbour lights restaurantswimming poolbalcony overlookingseparate showercar parkbreakfast roomgaiety theatrelovely hotelduty managerbar foodbreakfast staffdouglas bay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
444 - 449 of 682 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Central, seafront location. Grand old building. Main reception looks a bit tired in places (few areas of peeling paint etc) and the overall layout is somewhat labyrinthine but welcome was warm and check-in was efficient. Room was large and included a sofa, desk etc, mine opened out on to the internal Atrium and as a result I could hear a trickling fountain through the patio doors to the balcony, but this seemed to stop during the night? Free wifi was an unexpected bonus and reasonably efficient. Buffet breakfast, included in the rate, was pretty good and contained everything you could reasonably expect. Didn't try the bar or any other dining options but looked busy enough. Would happily stay here again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Dazzer6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel first opened its doors in 1892 hence over the years has had a number of sections and wings added on - adding to its "quirky" layout and we believe giving it great character. We are pleased you found your check in warm and efficient and enjoyed our buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Like the promenade in Douglas, the Sefton hotel has probably seen better days, particularly before the onset of package holidays in the 1960s.

This was my first time on the island and thus, my first time at the hotel. The first thing that struck me concerned the hotel overall: it was obvious that parts of it had been redeveloped, while older sections remained untouched.

Lifts to various sections of the hotel were located in different places, and for some older residents this seemed to cause a little bit of confusion.

The hotel bar, 'The Sir Norman Bar', paid homage to the English actor. Unfortunately, it was hideously decorated and looked like a room out of an average semi-detached house from 1970s England, or even a British Legion bar! In the absence of a re-model, I'd give it a wide berth.

The breakfast room - the Harris room - is situated at the front of the hotel and basks in glorious sunshine. It too was a little old fashioned, as was the breakfast. I simply stuck with cereal and croissants, as the cooked option - beans, sausages, bacon, etc - looked awful.

The pool was closed and this was a real shame. I'd say this is one of the reasons it has a '4-star' rating, but as it's not accessible, this rating should definitely be reviewed.

But I keep the best to last. The room allocated was one of the best hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. It had a balcony that overlooked the atrium and caught the evening sunshine, and was spacious and well fitted out. Perhaps the only negative aspect was the shower: for someone a tad larger than myself, it would probably be too small, but that's only a minor point.

Would I stay here again? The answer is probably 'yes', but I wouldn't take the breakfast option (there are a few cafes in the town centre that are accessible on foot) and I'd pay that little bit extra for the same room again.

I've given it '3' but would like to have given it '3.5'; '3' probably doesn't do it justice, but '4' is too high.

With a little improvement it could be a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvidIrishReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for your very comprehensive review of our hotel. The hotel was built back in 1892 and over the years has had sections added and redeveloped as you have mentioned - works are ongoing and we hope to start refurbishing a number of areas in the near future. On the plus side we are pleased you enjoyed your room and found this spacious and well fitted out - indeed "one of the best you have ever stayed in". Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Sefton. Stayed in the "Speakers suite". Fantastic room, very spacious lounge, B and O sound and tv system, kitchenette hidden away in cupboards, wine, fresh fruit, mineral water and hot drinks provided. Robes, tv and speakers, twin basins, roll top bath and wet room double power shower in bathroom. Bedroom B and O also, memory foam king bed, well appointed. Slight noise from chandelier when guests above moving around but not too irritating. Very nice room with quality fitments and tasteful period style decor. Staff very friendly and most helpful. Concierge took our bags for us, front desk most helpful, we was running late for check out, not a problem, thank you. Gallery restaurant very high standard. Breakfast faultless, huge choice, good quality local ingredients. Second visit and will come again. Well done management and staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nik1dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay at The Sefton and thank you for your glowing comments. We are very proud of our new Suites, and we are delighted they lived up to your expectations. Equally we are pleased you found our staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast and Gallery restaurant to be of a very high standard. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were led to a floor and left at the lift on checking in at midnight, only to find that the floor was incorrect. On returning some distance to reception it was unmanned.
The room key cards were poor - we needed four different cards in 24 hours.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are sorry you encountered problems with your key card and the check in process. All feedback is vital to us and we thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

A great position on the promenade in Douglas, with two excellent restaurants attached - one either side. Both were excellent. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and even offered to print out our boarding passes as we checked out. There is some parking in the hotel, but if you cant find a space, there is a good multi storey round the corner. The breakfast was lovely, with plenty of choice of alternatives you could order (Manx kippers, smoked haddock, porridge etc).
just one thing to watch for- we had a room over the kitchens at the back, and the air conditioning or fan for the kitchen was a little noisy through the night. We asked to move and there was no problem with this at all. A nice touch is that you can phone down for fresh milk for your tea and coffee - a great idea! Thanks to all the staff - you all seemed happy to be there too.

Room Tip: we had a room over the kitchens at the back, and the air conditioning or fan for the kitchen was a little noisy through the night. Ask for a room overlooking the atrium - lovey sound of running water and an indoor balcony with natural light!.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukcamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your positive feedback. As you say the hotel is in a great position on Douglas promenade. We are pleased you found our staff helpful and friendly and enjoyed both of our restaurants, Sir Normans and The Gallery. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews