We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel.”
Review of Sefton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sefton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for two nights 23/24th March. Very spacious sea view room with flat screen tv, small fridge with bottled water and fresh milk. Iron and board, tea, coffee hot chocolate and biscuits, small dish of mints. A lovely big comfortable bed and a nice sofa too. The bathroom was huge with full bath, separate walk in shower, toilet sink and bidet, good toiletries provided. Baltic weather conditions outside with howling wind, our room was really cold, but a call to reception and a heater was promptly delivered to us, so problem sorted thankfully and we were nice and warm after that. Great location, short walk to all the shops, theatre next door. Fantastic meal in the restaurant on the Saturday night, beautifully presented and attentive service with a smile. Manager apologised for how cold the room was even though the heating was on. Great breakfast the following morning, no complaints at all about the food or service. Restaurant is closed in winter on a Sunday evening so we ate in Sir Normans bar, delicious 3 course meal, good portions, great service, very reasonable prices, would recommend. A big shame that the pool is now closed, we would have enjoyed the facilities had they been available. I think the hotel information booklet in the rooms should be updated stating the closure of the pool. All in all a lovely weekend away despite the freezing weather.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scouserjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed one of our lovely sea view rooms and found it spacious and comfortable. Thank you for your comments regarding our food, both at breakfast time and Sir Normans and The Gallery. We are sorry that the pool was closed during your visit and have noted your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 652 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here for our 4th wedding Anniversary.Room was one of the Suites.Very nicely laid out,Balcony was nice and big.Tea,Coffee,Biscuits and fridge.Big telly.Huge Bed.Ironing board.Bathroom had shower,bath,basin,bede,toilet,nicely done out Before going out we had a drink at Sir Normans(Bar, part of Hotel).Had a quick look at Menu thought not bad selection and well priced.Seeing it was special occasion we went out looking and looked and looked bit pricey.Ended back at Sir Normans had a very nice meal and wine.Well looked after by Tony and Melroy.Thanks for looking after us

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard195953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted you chose to stay at The Sefton for your anniversary and equally delighted that your stay with us was such a success. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our daughter planned her wedding here at the Sefton and the whole event was perfect with every small detail catered for by the staff . The hotel is splendid in every way and complimented by warm friendly and efficient employees.
We would recommend this hotel for any occasion but with our experience they excel at weddings and family events .

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank kathyIsleOfMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your kind comments. We are delighted that your daughter's wedding went as planned and was "perfect with every small detail catered for". May we take this opportunity to wish your daughter and son-in-law all the very best for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had an amazing night here watching the IL Divo tribute , the meal was fantastic and the staff was very friendly ! In a good location right on the promenade only a short walk to the town centre shops. The bar also does very good food serving big portions . I didn't stay in the rooms at this hotel but my friends did so got to see them and the rooms were very big and came with tv, kettle and tea making condiments , iron and ironing board , mini bar .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mishylou30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding the "IL Divo tribute". We are delighted you enjoyed your evening with us - why not make a weekend of it next time and relax in one of our Atrium rooms, or pamper yourself by staying in one of our sumptious Suites?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed in the Hollywood suite, which was simply stunning. Very well laid out, great furnishings, top bang n Olsen tv's in bedroom and lounge, tile TV in bathroom, huge big bath and shower, lovely fluffy towels and robes. Great selection and good quality toiletries provided. Fine crispy bedding on a very comfy king sized bed. Lovely and warm, very quiet, did not hear anything either inside or outside. The lounge is a great place to relax, with TV, iPod docking station, sound system throughout suite. Clever hide away kitchen, with tea n coffee selection, fresh fruit bowl provided, and also ample bottles of water, both sparkling and still. The mene in the Restaurant was great - something for everyone's taste. We had queenies to start and they were delicious. The service level was just right, timed right and not intrusive at all. We had chateaux briand which was carved at our table, served with a selection of veg and potatoes. It was a good sized portion, and was wonderful. We both had the selection of home made ice creams, which were served in a brandy basket. The chilli ice cream is wonderful, a truly wonderful experience of taste in your mouth. Recommended. We had a great nights sleep, and woke totally refreshed. We enjoyed a cup of tea and a biscuit while admiring the sea view and the ferry leaving the port. Breakfast is a wide selection of hot and cold buffet, with speciality teas and coffee available. There are bikes to hire free of charge, which would be nice to use and pedal along the flat promenade.sadly, the pool was out of use as being refurbished, but the gym was available and looked to have most things for a work out. We were impressed with the cleanliness, the quietness of suites/bedrooms, and the lovely layout of the old style hotel with modern furnishings and decor. The service we received was 4* and beyond. Would highly recommend this hotel, especially the suites, which we consider the best on the Isle of Man. Will certainly use this hotel after such a wonderful short stay.

Room Tip: All suites have sea views. Full manx breakfast will set you up for the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debs_Cain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay. We are absolutely delighted to hear your comments and agree that our Suites are stunning. The Suites are our latest addition to the hotel and are aimed to provide that little extra luxury. All our Suites are very different in terms of decor, but all share the same attention to detail ..... so hopefully when you visit us again in the future you can sample a different Suite. We are pleased you enjoyed our Restaurant and thank you for your comments regarding cleanliness and customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I recently enjoyed a weekend break at the Sefton. The room we had was very spacious and good value for money. We dined in the main restaurant the first night and we thought the food there very good along with the service. The breakfast menu provided a large selection of cold and hot food. The time we were there Norman's bar was busy but a good place to have a drink nonetheless. The only reason I have given 4 stars is that the swimming pool wasn't open and we couldn't park at the hotel which resulted in parking the on the front some considerable distance away. Given the weather constantly lashed it down whilst we were there it was inconvenient. All other aspects of the Hotel were fine.

Room Tip: Stayed at the back of the hotel with nothing of a view. However if you're looking for an large r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolShaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased you found your room spacious and value for money and that you enjoyed your meals with us. We are sorry that the pool was closed during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again when hopefully the weather will be a little more accommodating!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I like the Sefton, but it smacks of faded glamour. Everything is a bit dated, and the overall impression is that it could do with freshening up. The worst thing for me is that the rooms are dreadfully hot - and unless you're very lucky - you can't open the window as the extractor fans are terribly loud and stop and start with a bang.

I've stayed at the Sefton at least 5 times and every time the temperature in the rooms has been a problem for me.

Having said tht I have stayed in a few other hotels in Douglas and the Sefton is the best I've experienced.

The Sefton has obviously changed a lot over the years, with add-ons and extensions. It leaves the hotel as a bit of a labyrinth with colour-coded lifts depending on where your room is. Its left a few quirky rooms. In fact, twice when I've stayed (on my own) I've been allocated a family arrangement with 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom. Rooms with steps inside and ramps too. So, its always a surprise when when you open the door!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonLSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us. We are sorry that you experienced problems with the room temperature and will look to address this. The hotel is as you say a mixture of Victorian and modern and as such does have have its own special character. Thank you for your repeat custom and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.5 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
657 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#12 of 15 in Douglas
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#5 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: $95 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he 4-star Sefton Hotel is located in Douglas on the beachfront. It boasts a unique indoor water garden and eateries. The rooms at the Sefton feature flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and some rooms have views of Douglas Bay and the water garden. There are also luxury 5-star suites, complete with hot tubs, iPod docking stations and their own kitchenette. Enjoy a light bite, main meal or dessert in the themed Sir Norman's Bar and enjoy its extensive selection of wines and local ales. A more fine dining experience can be had in the Harbour Lights at The Sefton. The Sefton Hotel also boasts a tranquil pool and a library where guests can relax with a drink or a book. The Atrium Water Garden provides a stunning backdrop to enjoy a drink. The ferry port is a 10-minute walk away. Parking is available onsite, nominal parking charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas
Sefton Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing