We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,254)
Filter reviews
1,254 results
Traveler rating
271
429
346
119
89
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
271
429
346
119
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paragon restaurant sea view health club small balcony isle of man douglas bay poached eggs plenty of choice kippers sea front short break restaurant staff evening meal bit dated good nights sleep enjoyable stay buffet style
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,254 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2019

Absolutely fantastic stay, even though it was only for two days. The room was impeccably clean with a fantastic view. The amenities were excellent and would highly recommend the pool area.
My only gripe was the bed.... It was bordering on harsh.... Orthopedic probably, but uncomfortable all the same.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Safari27769421317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. Thank you for your kind comments, and I hope that you will return to use and make use of the facilities that we provide that you did not get chance to indulge during your recent stay.

Again thank you for taking the time to write this review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

Good Hotel in excellent position on the prom. Superb views of Douglas Bay from the sea view rooms which also have a balcony. Room standard is very good and serviced daily. Tea/Coffee facilities and good size flat screen TV provided in all rooms. The breakfast is good (included or £9.50 pay on the day depending on your booking). Good bars and restaurants including one Chinese.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank gabe2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. Thank you for your kind comments, and I hope that you will return to use and make use of the facilities that we provide that you did not get chance to indulge during your recent stay.

Again thank you for taking the time to write this review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

This review is on behalf of my parents Mr & Mrs Hines who stayed at the hotel from 29th March to 1st April. Their review is as follows:

As seasoned travelers they could not speak highly enough off their break. The hotel staff were all courteous and professional at all times. The food was outstanding, and cleanliness of the hotel superb! A special mention has to go to Philomena (bingo manager)and Stephen (casino manager)as throughout their stay they showed warmth and hospitality seldom seen out with your own family. My parents would highly recommend this hotel as it was one of the most enjoyable and memorable experiences they have experienced. This can be substantiated as they have already booked to go back again on 17th may and hopefully many more returns in the future. If you are reading this review please do not hesitate to try this wonderful hotel as they are positive you will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank DanielleH979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your parents recent stay at our property. We are delighted to hear that they enjoyed their visit, their kind comments regarding Stephen and Philomena I will pass on personally.

Once again thank you for your kind comments, and taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019

Stayed here with a group of friends April 2019. Total disaster and a waste of hard earned money. The hotel had no hot water for the entire weekend of our stay! Hence the leisure facilities were also closed. Had to boil a small kettle for water. Rooms weren't clean - stains on the walls and carpets. Room at the back of the hotel was incredibly noisy (air conditioner, kitchen smells and bikers revving their engines every morning). Staff unhelpful and no assistance offered to change hotels. Eventually secured a 50% discount on the room price but in my opinion a full refund should have been given. Problem also with prostitutes in the casino area! Only good thing about the hotel is the breakfast. Would never stay in this hotel again. Probably the worst I have ever stayed in. Complaints to management have not been sympathetically looked at.

Room tip: Don't stay here - if you have to pick a sea view room as it will be quieter- but still poor value for money
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancashirelass2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

Arrived to be informed that there was no hot water at the hotel. We were offered TWO free drink vouchers per couple. 1 EACH!!! We were told that a part was en route and the problem should be fixed soon. No alternative accommodation was offered albeit some of our party did make their own alternative arrangements. No hot water from Friday lunchtime until we checked out on Sunday lunchtime!! We haggled for a discount, and the manager eventually gave us 50% off the price as that was all he was allegedly authorised to give. To be fair, the reception staff really had a hard time over this weekend and did their best to appease the many guests who besieged the front desk about the same issue.
No leisure facilities, pool, sauna, steam room etc. Good job we had some rugby to go and watch!!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank NorthStar07815892120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews