We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Nearby Hotels
$171
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$86
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sefton Hotel(Douglas)
$151
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Regency Hotel(Douglas)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ascot Hotel(Douglas)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Empress Hotel(Douglas)
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Welbeck Hotel(Douglas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
All Seasons(Douglas)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,103)
Filter reviews
1,103 results
Traveler rating
220
384
316
111
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
384
316
111
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparagon restaurantsea viewsmall balconyisle of mandouglas baypoached eggssea frontplenty of choicekippersshort breakevening mealrestaurant staffbit datedbar foodenjoyable staygood nights sleepbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
784 - 789 of 1,103 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Positives:
Location
Car parking.
Staff seemed friendly.

Negatives:
A very tired hotel that needs huge investment but there is no excuse for it not being clean and it wasn't!
The room was dirty, filthy skirting boards, hairs on the tea tray, toilet paper on floor in bathroom.
In the restaurant a chair was pulled out for my wife to sit on and it was filthy with cereal all over, the plastic menu cover was just stained with cup rings.
The bedroom was very small.
Noise was a major problem on second night from a function in the hotel, considering we were on fourth floor it must have been hell on the lower floors. Then woken at 5am by a sort of high pitched noise that may have been water in radiators but whatever it was successfully ended our nights sleep!
People leaving Casino throughout the night are not the quietest people but if you stay at hotel with Casino that's to be expected.
This is a sister hotel to The Sefton, which itself has reviews saying its tired, but having been there for dinner and seen the place especially the atrium I think I would take a gamble!
I tried to change which as Sefton had rooms and is owned by same people I thought would be simple to keep a customer satisfied, but no! I was told it was impossible because I had booked via booking.com, if I owned them both and wanted to keep a customer satisfied I would have made sure it got done. It was before we checked in, as on way I got a phone call saying I wouldn't like this hotel and I should try to move!!
The whole place just feels very tired and grubby! I now have to spend a lot of time in IoM but not here and with them obviously not interested in keeping a customer it's doubtful it will be at Sefton either.

Room Tip: Ask for a clean one where noise won't affect you, not sure they have one but worth asking!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arthurh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Thank you for submitting a review following your stay with us. We are surprised and sorry to hear your comments regarding your room and will raise this with our Housekeeping staff as a matter of urgency. The Sefton Hotel and the Palace are indeed owned by the same Company however are traded as separate entities and therefore when booking via third parties with varying rates it is not possible to move guests between the two hotels. Both hotels are very different in style and perhaps in hindsight the Sefton would have been more suited to you. We hope next time you visit the Island you will consider staying at the Sefton - please email me once you have made your reservation and I will ensure that you see the Group at its best. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Situated close to all amenities a 4 star hotel rooms are OK and buffet breakfast is good and generous. Staff are not very friendly although they did what was expected. Douglas is a good base from which to explore the Island and all it's attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback following your stay with us. We are sorry to hear your comment regarding our staff however I would respond by saying such feedback is very rare as we do pride ourselves in our customer service. On the positive side, we are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and as you say the hotel is situated close to all amenities and is a good base from which to explore the Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

You can't beat the location of this hotel. It also provides free parking. However, it doesn't seem to have changed at all since it was run by Hilton. The front needs a clean/ lick of paint. The jacuzzi was out of action and by the sounds of it has been for a good while. The changing rooms were dirty. The room provided what we needed and was clean. Definitely worth paying more for a sea view.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. Yes, we agree you can't beat the location of our hotel plus the added advantage of free parking which is not always easy in Douglas. We are pleased you found your room clean although am sorry to hear your comments with regard to the changing room and the jacuzzi. A part is on its way for the jacuzzi which is being sent via Courier so hopefully this should be back up and running in the next day or two. In addition we do have a number of planned areas for refurbishment throughout the hotel this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had our second annual dinner dance here and again the food was outstanding, the venue was clean and smart and the staff couldn't do enough to help. I don't have any comments about the rooms but for a formal dinner, you can't get better than this for a venue.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It goes without saying that we are delighted to receive your positive feedback and really pleased that your annual dinner dance was such a success. We will pass your comments on to the staff concerned, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I had the "deluxe" room... basically in normal hotels this is actually just a standard room. The main entrance to the hotel feels like you're entering a cheap motel in a car par. The actual hotel on the outside looks like a grimy London council block. As you walk in you know the place hasn't been decorated for about 70 years. . The room was very worn out with stains on the sofa - definitely the opposite of luxury. The best thing they could do to this place is knock it down and start over. The staff are lovely however. Oh, and I had a good view of the sea (through dirty windows).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shivshev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay with us. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion although we note your positive comments regarding our staff, thank you. We are hoping to undertake areas of improvement within the hotel this year and hope these improvements will help address your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews