We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and pleasant break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a lovely sea view room, on the third floor, it was clean and compact, with everything necessary for a pleasant stay. The bed was nice and comfy with crisp fresh bedding, the hospitality tray had tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits. Complimentary toiliteries were included in the small but functional bathroom, the towels were fresh, clean and fluffy. We enjoyed the leisure club facilities, the swimming pool, gym, steam room and hot tub. There is also a hairdressing salon and a spa, but we did not use these facilities. We then ate in the main restaurant, and had a carvery meal, which was very nice. There was a harpist playing in the bar area, which also served a selection of bar meals. Meals could also be taken in the Aces bar inside the casino - but we did not visit this section of the hotel, nor the kusal bingo on the ground floor. There is also a night club on the ground floor open until 4am, and this did not cause us any disturbance to our sleep. The sea was loud at night, as it was windy during our stay, but we found this somewhat relaxing, cosy in our room with the nasty weather outside. There was no noise from surrounding rooms or the corridor, and we had a nice sleep.. We opened the curtains in the morning, and from the bed watched the sun rising across the bay. It was a really lovely sight. We enjoyed a wonderful self service breakfast in the restaurant, with a good choice, continental and traditional full manx, and also an a la carte breakfast selection. Check in and out was prompt and courteous on both occasions, and all staff we encountered during our brief stay were polite and pleasant. Overall, we enjoyed our mini break, and felt recharged as a result, and would certainly stay again in the future. Thank you Sefton Group.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely. Bring your swim suits to enjoy the leisure facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debs_Cain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for your comprehensive report following your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities on offer and left feeling re-charged. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our third break at this hotel with the Steam Packet Company. Again we could find no fault with our accommodation. The food in the carvery restaurant was excellent and the staff very personable and helpful in particular Luke. We used the Kursal attached to hotel each evening which proved extremely lucrative. The staff in the Kursal (casino and bingo) were exceptionally friendly and attentive. Our only criticism is that the reception staff could be a little better trained.

Room Tip: Whilst the sea view rooms and superior it is much quieter with no traffic noise in rooms at the rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel and for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - finding the food excellent and our staff personable and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed 3 nights on a special offer which included the ferry crossing. Not many guests staying so I was surprised that I was put into such a poky little room as there appeared to be better rooms remaining empty so I will mark them down for this. I was on the 3rd floor at the back so the AC units were visible and audible. Food was good, particularly the salad section but the vegetables were a little unimaginative. Breakfast's were fine. Staff very friendly and helpful although not altogether familiar with the special BB and D which we had booked.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldbloke_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay. We are sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations - we have noted your comments and will review and address these where possible. We are pleased you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and enjoyed our food selection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel. Looks tired from the outside, especially at the back. I agree with other reviewers, you need a sea view. The rooms are nice with beautiful sea views. The double glazing is not great, it gets noisy and draughty. The staff were excellent, the hotel was clean, the breakfast room is lovely and the breakfast adequate. The leisure facilities are very good. The Sefton is better but then again it is more expensive.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank Mtdestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you found the rooms clean and our staff excellent and were able to enjoy our leisure facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Pleasantly surprised. Very clean, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good with the exception of underdone toast and not very nice porridge. That said, I would definitely use the hotel again.
The rear rooms can be noisy due to the nightlife behind the hotel, so I would suggest a sea view room if you are a light sleeper!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Nodalino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you found our hotel clean and our staff friendly and helpful and delighted that you will book with us again in the future . We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at the Palace for a week recently on business. My room was decent enough, but it was on the 2nd floor of the car park side and, as I like to sleep with the window open, the constant hum of the adjacent roof-sited air handling units were very annoying, especially at 5am! The hotel was by no means full, so it would have been nice to have been offered the option of a sea-view room or a car-park room on arrival, especially seeing as the company I work for use the Palace hotel a lot. I must say that the carvery-style evening meal and buffet-style breakfast were both excellent, and I somehow managed to put on 4kg during my 4 night stay!. The restaurant service was spot-on and, throughout, the staff were very pleasant. I'll probably stay D, B and B next time as this offers good value for money, and would save me wandering around a cold and damp Douglas in November looking for a decent restaurant. I should perhaps add that broadband is free and I had no trouble connecting up via the [supplied] ethernet cable in my room. Certain parts of the hotel's communal areas look a bit tired and need sprucing up a bit, but for what I paid I shouldn't complain, really, and the Christmas tree looked very festive! I didn't use the pool, sports bar or the casino. On my departure, and for the first time in my life, the bill was 100% accurate, and I was very impressed with this small point.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a bay room, as the view over Douglas Bay at dawn is something special. 2nd floor car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seft0ngm, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted you found the restaurant service "spot on" and will pass on your comments to our Chef and restaurant staff. The D, B & B does indeed offer good value for money and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have often stayed at this hotel, when it was the Stakis, the Hilton, the Palace...!

Once again, we took advantage of the excellent offer of D,B & B for only £69 for the two of us. I'm not sure whether this is just for Isle of Man residents. We upgraded to a superior front-facing room for £79, which is well worth the extra.

I cannot believe how excellent this offer is. The dinner is a buffet carvery, but we ordered from the menu: the fish option (salmon) and the vegetarian option. The buffet starters and desserts were very good. The service is wonderful; I have no complaints whatsoever.

Breakfast would be the perfectly good buffet-style normal experience, if it were not for the option to choose from the à la carte menu, which included kippers, smoked haddock and eggs florentine, etc. All excellent!

Our evening entertainment was the harp playing quietly in the bar, then the Casino. It is wonderful to saunter in after dinner and to be determined to stop when you're winning. We came out with £5 more than when we went in.

As island residents, we felt that we had had a lovely weekend 'away' for a great bargain price.

However.... twice now, we have been promised Wifi/Broadband connection but it has just not happened, either in our room or in the public areas, despite asking several times. Not a huge problem for us, but it must be frustrating for business travellers.

We are going to book again!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea-view rooms; it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmr507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seft0ngm, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay with us. We are delighted that you had a lovely weekend "away" and found the food, both dinner and breakfast, to be excellent. As you say, it is an excellent D,B & B package and great value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
660 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
405 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#4 of 15 in Douglas
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino

Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NA
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: $60 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Douglas, the Island's capital, BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel and Casino is the Island's leading entertainment and leisure complex combining a quality 4-star hotel with the Island's only licensed Casino and nightclub, a Bingo and Slots lounge, health club, bars and restaurants and a two-screen cinema. During the weekend guests can enjoy a lively and dynamic atmosphere. This is the place to be if you want a quality hotel, a convenient location and entertainment on your doorstep! The hotel provides parking onsite, nominal charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Palace Hotel And Casino
Best Western Palace Hotel Douglas
Hilton Hotel Douglas
Hilton International Douglas
Hilton Douglas
Douglas Hilton
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing