We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
England
Level Contributor
199 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here for three nights Tuesday to Friday on a room only basis. The check in was fast, friendly and efficient. Room was very clean, modern and comfortable with a lovely little balcony and sea view. Very small compact bathroom and the usual range of complementary toiletries, tea, coffee etc. We ate in the restaurant one evening from the carvery. Service and food good. Hotel does need some exterior work doing at the front and the entrance from the promendade could do with a facelift. A good hotel in a nice position and we got a good price on the room. Comfortable but not luxury. I would imagine it could be noisy during the busy summer period or at weekends with the nightclub at the front and late opening.

Room Tip: Room on the front have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoogieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehotel66, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in a seaview room, and that you found the food and service good. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    306
    272
    97
    59
See reviews for
124
377
39
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights 6th to 10th September 2012 Agreed with most of the previous guests hotel is extremely dated, carpets were worn and dirty, the decor is dark and in serious need of redecoration . The room was fine with a sea view,the replenishment of toileteries was very poor after the first day we were left no replacements. The breakfast was OK but there was clearly a shortage of staff, we had to contiually ask for tea and toast and were given very disgruntled answers by the harrassed staff. We had dinner on one night which was called a carvery! this meant you helped yourself to a selecton of meat and chicken floating in sauces, the only meat to be carved was turkey I thought the meal was quite expensive at over £20 for two couses. Our worst experience was the noise on Saturday night from the night club until 3am I would not recommmend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehotel66, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the hotel and we are sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations. We are pleased however that you did enjoy the lovely seaviews from your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

A good hotel for facilities, rooms similar to travelodge. Rooms at rear noisey due to fans running all night below our window therefore we could not open window and room was very hot,so not much sleep. Excellent location good bar meals did not try main restuarant.

Room Tip: Sea view only no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehotel66, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay, and we are pleased that you found the hotel a suitable location from which to enjoy your holiday on the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

If what you want is a very small room unfriendly snotty staff then this hotel is for you. I booked the room months before then changed the booking over the phone 6 weeks before as a friend decided to come to the bowling fest with me . I asked for a large twin room with sea view and balcony this was no problem room changed or so i thought because when we arrive we were bive what could only be discribed as a box room very small bathroom ,tiny single wardrobe and not a dresser in the room not even bed side table were the hell do you put your clothes would have to stay in suit case but where the hell do you put that on the bed then how do you sleep.No sea view no balcony window opened 4 Inches over the fans and the kitchens it really was the pits at £96 anight .We had come with 2 friend so i went to see them they had sea view and very small balcony but really not alot better but they had paid in advance so had to stay.We did not im pleased to say as they said the food was awfull and at breakfast coffee and toast only arrived after they had finished when it did needless to say they are not going back.We however found another hotel called the Ascot it was great so much room fantastic staff and great food.When we told the staff at the Hilton they really couldnt care less even let me call a taxie after all they had alot of chinese booking in we were mere nothings from Lancashire awfull awfull inpersonal place just cram as many rooms as possible in and take the money and i promise you i am not streching a point this is the honest to god truth Go to the Ascot.

Room Tip: Diffrent Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehotel66, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the hotel, and to express your opinions. We do hope that the bowls tournament went well for you and that you managed to enjoy the beauty of the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Douglas hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Sea view and rooms are very good. Old fashion but well prepared room. Foods are very delicious at restaurant. Service was good. it was Hilton in the past. You can eat rib on eye steak. it is very delicious. it was my best in the world.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evrnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehotel66, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel, and we were delighted to hear that it was your best stay ever. Thank you too for your lovely comments regarding the steak in the restaurant, and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked in on Monday 20th of August after booking through Expedia. The decor of the hotel is extremely dated, tired (get the state of that carpet) and requires changing as a matter of urgency. The room itself overlooked the car park and was more like "Travelodge" rather than a four star hotel. There was no soap in the bathroom, only shower gel, and the plug in the washbasin was faulty and would not retain any water. That said the room was clean and the beds comfortable. I reported the faulty washbasin plug on Monday morning but on our return on Monday night it had not been touched and I finally managed to fix it myself. You should not have to do this at a four star hotel. On our last night at the hotel, at about 2330 hours when myself and my wife were asleep in bed a man burst into the room apologised and departed. At 0100hrs a major disturbance erupted in the car park amid much shouting swearing an threats of violence from a group of young people. It was a bit like Dodge City. There seemed to be no attempt by the hotel staff to do anything about it.
On our departure the following morning, we complained about the foregoing to the girl at the desk, who didn't seem all that bothered and called the duty manager. He was apologetic and said that he could dolittle about it there and then, took our name and address and said that head office would be in touch. That was two weeks ago and bno one has been in touch.
On our return home a message had been placed on our 'phone by Expedia saying the hotel had stated we had not turned up and did we still want the room!!!!!!!!!!
The hotel is a "Best Western", we have stayed at the groups hotels before, all over Europe and found them to be by and large good. But this one was truly terrible.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room facing onto the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valandavedaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehotel66, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and were disappointed to read that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We are sorry that other guests created a disturbance for you outside the hotel, but are pleased that you found the room clean and the beds comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We thought the hotel was dirty and service was poor. Breakfast one morning was awful and they served raw bacon!. We have made a complaint. Think twice about staying here!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msandys33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#6 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino

Property: BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NA
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Douglas, the Island's capital, BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel and Casino is the Island's leading entertainment and leisure complex combining a quality 4-star hotel with the Island's only licensed Casino and nightclub, a Bingo and Slots lounge, health club, bars and restaurants and a two-screen cinema. During the weekend guests can enjoy a lively and dynamic atmosphere. This is the place to be if you want a quality hotel, a convenient location and entertainment on your doorstep! The hotel provides parking onsite, nominal charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Palace Hotel Douglas
Best Western Palace Hotel And Casino
Hilton Hotel Douglas
Hilton International Douglas
Hilton Douglas
Douglas Hilton
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing