We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ascot Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Welbeck Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Empress Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Regency Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mannin Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,087)
Filter reviews
1,087 results
Traveler rating
216
378
314
109
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
378
314
109
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparagon restaurantsea viewsmall balconyisle of mandouglas baypoached eggssea frontplenty of choicekippersshort breakevening mealrestaurant staffbit datedbar foodenjoyable staygood nights sleepbuffet style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
954 - 959 of 1,087 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Sea view and rooms are very good. Old fashion but well prepared room. Foods are very delicious at restaurant. Service was good. it was Hilton in the past. You can eat rib on eye steak. it is very delicious. it was my best in the world.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evrnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehotel66, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel, and we were delighted to hear that it was your best stay ever. Thank you too for your lovely comments regarding the steak in the restaurant, and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked in on Monday 20th of August after booking through Expedia. The decor of the hotel is extremely dated, tired (get the state of that carpet) and requires changing as a matter of urgency. The room itself overlooked the car park and was more like "Travelodge" rather than a four star hotel. There was no soap in the bathroom, only shower gel, and the plug in the washbasin was faulty and would not retain any water. That said the room was clean and the beds comfortable. I reported the faulty washbasin plug on Monday morning but on our return on Monday night it had not been touched and I finally managed to fix it myself. You should not have to do this at a four star hotel. On our last night at the hotel, at about 2330 hours when myself and my wife were asleep in bed a man burst into the room apologised and departed. At 0100hrs a major disturbance erupted in the car park amid much shouting swearing an threats of violence from a group of young people. It was a bit like Dodge City. There seemed to be no attempt by the hotel staff to do anything about it.
On our departure the following morning, we complained about the foregoing to the girl at the desk, who didn't seem all that bothered and called the duty manager. He was apologetic and said that he could dolittle about it there and then, took our name and address and said that head office would be in touch. That was two weeks ago and bno one has been in touch.
On our return home a message had been placed on our 'phone by Expedia saying the hotel had stated we had not turned up and did we still want the room!!!!!!!!!!
The hotel is a "Best Western", we have stayed at the groups hotels before, all over Europe and found them to be by and large good. But this one was truly terrible.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room facing onto the car park.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank valandavedaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehotel66, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and were disappointed to read that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We are sorry that other guests created a disturbance for you outside the hotel, but are pleased that you found the room clean and the beds comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We thought the hotel was dirty and service was poor. Breakfast one morning was awful and they served raw bacon!. We have made a complaint. Think twice about staying here!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msandys33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed for four nights at the Palace Hotel. We had stayed there about 12 years ago when it was under different ownership.

ARRIVAL. The Hotel is OK if you arrive by car as the entrance is at the rear of the hotel and you have level access from the car park through reception and via a ramp to the lifts. We arrived at the front of the hotel - go through lobby - past lifts which do not work without staff - up a flight of stairs - down a ramp to reception. Having booked a non smoking room at the front of the hotel we went to it and it had a strange smell. Also because it was next to the roof of the dining room below there was a sign advising you to keep the door locked at night. We asked to move and was given a room on the top floor which was nice and fresh and we could have the balcony door open. One slight problem to us as non-smokers was some of the other guests just stood on the balcony to smoke - the roof is full of fag ends. The room was a little tired and when you stepped on the board to access the balcony it sagged in the middle.

Breakfast was quite good with a help yourself selection of eggs, bacon, sausage, mushroom, tomatoes, hash browns[1 day only - fried bread and potato cakes the other days], tea coffee, toast, fruit juices and meat and cheese selection.

Not every one will be using a car and access is a bit awkward from street level. It would be useful if the lift was changed so you had to put your card in to a slot so it took you to street level.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are slightly dearer but you get a great view of the promenade.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehotel66, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and for your favourable comments on the lovely views along the promenade and the great breakfast which you enjoyed. We are also pleased that we were able to move your room to a lovely seaview room and hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Sailed from Liverpool to IOM on the MANANNAN on a short two night three day break.Crossing excellent,paid for premier class seating worth every penny.The service was first class.Arrived at the hotel Best Western Casino hotel Douglas (FIRST IMPRESSION OUTSIDE IN NEED OF SOME TLC) check in ok.Standard Double at the back of the hotel room bathroom small otherwise room in good oder,iron plus board in room.Bed vey comfortable.Food top class breakfast and evening meal.Casino longer to register than loose your money.The whole trip is great value for money.Take your car the island is great to tour around

Room Tip: SEA VIEW rooms are best rooms at the back do suffer from noise from the air conditioning units.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFCRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehotel66, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay at the hotel, and we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your break with us. We were delighted that you loved the breakfasts and dinner, and that your stay was great value for money. We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews