We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
walsall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Just got back from an 8 day break. Had a fantastic stay at the Palace Hotel & Casino. Brilliant location with free parking, central to everything in Douglas. Rooms are really comfortable and spacious and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Everything you could possibly need is on site as there is a gym/spa & pool, a cinema, casino and several bars and restraurants which serve anything from bar snacks to fabulous cuisine at the Atlantis restuarant. Breakfast is amazing, all you can eat buffet with a great choice including Al la carte options. Would highly recommend as it tivcked all our boxes & it's great base to explore the Island. Would definately go back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalsallAdele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    333
    290
    100
    59
See reviews for
132
398
41
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hockley Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stayed for TT second visit to Hotel.
Called in Casino was stopped by very aggresive man on door. Was deliberately tripped up by his colleague.

Ask to speak to duty manager in morning no reply. Again phoned one week later, spoke to duty manager said he would come back to me, 10 days later no reply. Nice hotel, just let down by over zealous doormen at casino. With no social skills. But would return but not visit casino.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geohgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

The staff are plentiful and so polite, helpful and friendly. The food is excellent in quality, imagination and value. We ate out a few nights which served to confirm how good the Palace dining was. The hotel might be suffering from 60s architecture but it is clean and well maintained. Make sure you book a sea view. Its well worth the extra cost. Overall, excellent value for money. I can't imagine there's better value anywhere on the Island. Perhaps the best value I have ever had anywhere in the world. We took our car to the Island and the hotel has a spacious free car park. We will definitely be back soon!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maguire_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Talk about Global warming this hotel was so hot it was unbearable. They could do with installing a decent optimiser to control the temperature of this building.
The rooms were nothing special nice and clean and comfy beds.
The staff at the front desk and in the reastaurant were very polite and the food in the Paragon restaurant was very good.
The Hotel is central and its takes about fifteen minutes to walk into the Town Centre.
All in All I would use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QUIRKY68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanberis, Cymru
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed for two nights at the Palace hotel having flown over from Anglesey with Manx airways(20 minutes flight!!). On the whole it was a pleasant stay with a nice clean room and the hotel staff were very pleasant.The only complaint we have is that the whole hotel and especially our room was far too hot. Also the extractor fans outside our room were kept on all night and so our quality of sleep was poor.Apart from this we would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is very central for all of the town's amenities.Douglas is a lovely, unspoilt town.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gweriniaethwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We are a couple in our early fifties
Staff from front of house to backroom staff, *****Excellent******
Condition of double room with en-suite.......very clean and tidy
Food...Breakfast, varied selection and staff very friendly and helpful
Evening Meal and Bar Service, fast friendly.

It was good enough to book for 2012 whilst stil there

Room Tip: Seaview is worht getting
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor Co Down
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Had a really lovely 3 night stay in the palace hotel in a balcony room. Comfortable bed, hot,powerful shower, tea making facilities, iron and ironing board. Food was good in the bar and the restaurant. Had one meal in the Atlantis restaurant in the casino which was more fine dining which we both enjoyed. Staff from reception to restaurant were very helpful and efficient, special mention to Antonio and mario. The casino is good fun too if you like to gamble and they have a nice bar. We thought the hotel and food and drink was very reasonable in price. The palace hotel may not look like one from the outside as it is a horrible 1960's build but it is well worth a stay and we would definitely stay again if back in I o m.

Room Tip: Stay in a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freddy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
0.6 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
610 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
345 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
The Chesterhouse Hotel
#7 of 17 in Douglas
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino

Property: Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NA
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Douglas, the Island's capital, BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel and Casino is the Island's leading entertainment and leisure complex combining a quality 4-star hotel with the Island's only licensed Casino and nightclub, a Bingo and Slots lounge, health club, bars and restaurants and a two-screen cinema. During the weekend guests can enjoy a lively and dynamic atmosphere. This is the place to be if you want a quality hotel, a convenient location and entertainment on your doorstep! The hotel provides parking onsite, nominal charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Palace Hotel And Casino
Best Western Palace Hotel Douglas
Hilton Hotel Douglas
Hilton International Douglas
Hilton Douglas
Douglas Hilton
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing